Wreath work for the 4th

P1070417

I am a crafty person. I love making things. All sorts of things. But wreaths just always seem to do weird things for me. I may have finally broken through that! I love my new wreath!

I’ll walk you through what I did just in case you want to try something similar. It was very simple and lots of fun for me.

P1070415

Here are the supplies you’ll need:

  • upcycled wire form (this is from a set of fairy wings that just didn’t make it through all the flying 3 giggly girls like to do; you could also just us an old wire hanger)
  • fabric in whatever color combination you like
  • some way to cut the fabric – I used a rotary cutter, 6 1/2″ square template and mat; scissors or pinking shears work just as well

The process was pretty simple and, for me, fun.

Cut your fabrics in to strips that are 6″ x 1″. For the wreath I did, I used about 225 strips. You can do more or less, depending on how full you want it to appear and how big your form is. My wire made a circle that is 14″ across.

P1070416

225 strips 6″ x 1″

After you have the strips cut, decide if you want to be artsy or regimented. I chose to be regimented and did a pattern with my strips. My pattern was 2 whites, 2 blues, 2 reds, 1 burlap. Do whatever works for you. Then, start tying. Tie the strips onto the wire with an overhand knot. Once the form is full, hang it up and admire it! You’re done.

P1070419

I wish I had a picture of E’s face when she saw the wreath this morning. She started helping me a bit yesterday. She tied several of the strips on for me. That smile was worth all the tying. Plus, I love the way it looks.

Prayers that you all have a safe and happy 4th of July from all of us here. At Home.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Wreath work for the 4th

  1. […] year and perhaps make a new one for another place in our home. You can find the tutorial for our first wreath here on the […]

Leave a Reply

