Mardel

P1070483

What a fun morning I had! My father-in-law, affectionately know as Opa to the girls, came and played with the girls so that I could go to the Mardel Education Sale by myself. They stayed at the house and played all sorts of games, had their snacks, and enjoyed their morning.

I got to go across town by myself in the beauty of a morning of sunshine following several days of rain. I am so grateful for the rain. Not only has it cooled everything off but it nourished the earth. However, I love to see the morning after the rain. There is just something about it that makes it more beautiful than most mornings.

Anyway, I drove across town in the very light traffic and quiet van. When I arrived at Mardel, I was expecting tons of cars. After all, this is their BIG sale. It wasn’t bad at all. I was really excited!

I got inside and headed straight for the math section. I wanted all 4 sets of the math wrap-ups. SCORE!! That was the big thing on the list for today. And no one had taken them yet. That is huge because they only had one of each. In the math section, I also got the enrichment book from Spectrum for E’s math and the main book for L’s math.

There are some interesting nonfiction books also published by Spectrum that I picked a few. One is STOP! Crime Scene. We felt that it would be a good introduction for the girls. I also picked out STRANGE! Plants and WARNING! Disasters.

 

We have decided to work on some Spanish as a family and so I spent a little time looking through their selection and picked a couple of books from there.

Everything else was just kind of “extras.” I found good quality dry erase boards, a dry erase map of the US with the state borders, a hundreds chart already laminated, and a stamping set for J.

2 thoughts on “Mardel

  1. Jenn @ The Purposeful Mom July 21, 2013 at 2:46 am Reply

    I must admit I’ve never heard of Mardel–I’m assuming it’s a store? That’s great you could find so many things there for school! Thanks for sharing your blog on The Purposeful Mom FB post the other day and thanks for reading my blog!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome July 24, 2013 at 3:28 am Reply

      Yes, Mardel is an education supply store but it is also a Bible book store. Not sure what the official designation is but we find lots of good deals there and really appreciate all that they have to offer. They had their education sale last Thursday and they hold a homeschool curriculum sale in June. Online and in store. Great place if you ever get a chance to stop by one.

Leave a Reply

