Required Reading Logs

Remember Book it!? Pizza Hut still does this wonderful incentive program. Even more exciting, they make it available to homeschoolers. I am terribly grateful for this. It is such a blessing to be able to offer incentives by the local restaurants like they used to get in public schools. It is fun for them, too.

Knowing I had the coupons to offer the girls, I needed a way to log their reading. Now, one thing you have to know about my girls is that they are seldom without a book in their hands. Reading is not a problem for us. I needed a way to broaden the genres they read and push their reading abilities. Then I saw this post.

I revised it to meet our needs but it got me moving along the right lines in my thinking. My husband and I talked about what we desired for them and the best way to go about it. I like my girls having the ability to choose something that interests them but we didn’t want them choosing books that are way below their level. At the same time, I don’t want them to not read something that interests them, even if it is below their ability. The solution for this was that they choose and we have to approve their selections. We may have to alter this after we have tried it a bit but, at the moment, it seems to meet all of our wishes. After working through a couple of rough drafts of this form and idea, here is what we came up with.

Required Reading Log

The girls were so excited to have this structure and incentive that they were filling their logs out before I could get a picture of a blank one.

The girls were so excited to have this structure and incentive that they were filling their logs out before I could get a picture of a blank one.

We gave them their logs for October (so we’re getting started a little late!) and discussed each genre. We talked about what it was and what examples of each genre would be that the girls are familiar with. They asked questions and we filled in any missed information. And then, off they went.

At your house, do you have readers? What do you do to keep them interested and pushing their reading abilities? We are always looking for ideas, but best of all, we are always reading. At Home.

Leave a Reply

