5 Ps of Homeschool Essentials – Patience

5 Ps of homeschooling image

Maybe this is over simplifying it but at the top of absolute, must-have, can’t-do-without essentials for homeshooling is: Patience. Plain and simple. Patience.

For me.
For my husband.
For my kids.
For others.
For growth.
For all of it.

When I was writing about Fruit of the Spirit and focusing on patience, I mentioned that this is an area I struggle with. I expect so much and desire so much that I forget. And I get impatience. And I push when I shouldn’t and raise my voice when I shouldn’t and then I apologize. And pray. And try to regain the patience that I should have had to begin with.

I’ll sing my song. (Have patience. Have patience. Don’t be in such a hurry.) And I know that God is using my challenges with patience to teach my girls and so I’ll work harder.

But without patience, nothing gets done and lots of feelings get hurt. Therefore, patience tops my list of 5 homeschool essentials.

Looking for more Homeschooling Essentials? These awesome bloggers from the Review Crew are also sharing their Top 5 Homeschooling Essentials this week.
Laura @ Day by Day in Our World

Julie @ Nurturing Learning

Lisa @ Farm Fresh Adventures

DaLynn @ For the Display of His Splendor

Nicole @ Journey to Excellence

Adriana @ Homeschool Ways

Brandy @ Kingdom Academy Homeschool

Meg @ Adventures with Jude

Sarah @ Delivering Grace

Looking for even more? I’ll be reading over lots of other TOS Review Crew blogger posts as they are sharing their Homeschooling Essentials.

5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials

Check out the group and then come back and let me know what wonderful treasures you find this week. At Home.

10 thoughts on “5 Ps of Homeschool Essentials – Patience

  1. Laura O'Neill (@LauraOinAK) January 20, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    I often feel like I do not have enough patience to get through the day. Those are the days I find I need to just step back and lift it up in prayer to God. When I don’t do that, it never gets better as my attitude just gets stinkier.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 20, 2014 at 5:43 pm Reply

      Day by day, we do grow our patience. And, if I don’t start my day in God’s word and prayer, patience does not seem to show up in my day and it is a much larger struggle.

  2. brandymelissa January 20, 2014 at 1:28 pm Reply

    Oh yes, I firmly believe that the Lord called me to homeschool my kids specifically to teach me patience. I am still working on it of course, but I have gotten a lot better.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 20, 2014 at 5:41 pm Reply

      I agree! Homeschooling has taught me more about patience than any study of it ever has. And yes, I agree – it is a daily thing that always can be improved upon.

  3. Lisa M @ Farm Fresh Adventures January 20, 2014 at 3:47 pm Reply

    Patience. AMEN!!! There are days I have more patience than others! I pray every day “Lord, please grant me patience with my children. Please grant me patience with myself.” It’s so important!

    I look forward to the rest of your “P”s!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 20, 2014 at 5:40 pm Reply

      The P for prayers goes here, too, like you said. Prayer is a huge part of my patience. Thanks for visiting! See you tomorrow.

  4. Julie January 20, 2014 at 11:06 pm Reply

    Patience is one of my struggles, too.

  5. lcourtneymom4 January 25, 2014 at 5:14 pm Reply

    Oh, I have a hard time with this one sometimes!

  6. LaRee January 27, 2014 at 5:42 pm Reply

    Patience is definitely something I struggle with! And my kids all roll their eyes when I start singing that same “patience song” LOL 🙂

  7. Proverbs 31:16 | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be February 17, 2014 at 7:13 am Reply

    […] 5 Ps of Homeschool Essentials – Patience […]

Leave a Reply

