5 Ps of Homeschooling Essentials – Paper

5 Ps of homeschooling image

I know you are probably thinking “Paper? Really? REALLY?” My answer – YES!!!!

We go through so much paper and it is probably not all what you imagine. We use paper for so many things that I cannot imagine even trying to educate without it. And lots of it is used in delight directed activity. So, yes. Paper.

  • For writing
  • For drafts
  • For drawing
  • For creating
  • For sculpting
  • For printing
  • For playing

Some of those are obvious; others, maybe not so much.

We do writing activities – stories, from prompts, poetry. They also do a lot of writing on their own, just because a story or poem has come to mind. One of the girls gave everyone a poem that she created for Christmas.

One of the “not so obvious” – sculpting and creating. Have you ever seen a paper TV? I wish I could show you but I don’t have a picture of it. My middle giggly girl made a three dimensional TV for her dolls out of paper and tape.

The playing encompasses so much! They make lists of things they want to do. They write the rules for the club they are forming. They make lists of “services” they offer, such as drawings, hair styling, or horse lessons. (Yes, I do mean horse lessons, as in how to canter, trot, or do dressage.) They make programs for the performances they put on for us. They make things for their dolls – candy, money, purses, books, and so much more.paper use collage

Yes, we do the norm – printing out worksheets or maps or whatnot. But I keep a drawer of scrap paper for all of their activities. I have had to ask for people to save me papers that have been printed on one side but are now ready for the recycle bin because I ran out of scrap paper. So, for our family, one of our absolute, must-haves is paper. Plain, printed on one side or not, ready to create with. At Home.

 

Homeschooling Essential is as different as can be. Find out what these friends feel is important on this 3rd day of the Homeschooling Essentials blog hop.

Lisa @ Farm Fresh Adventures
DaLynn @ For the Display of His Splendor
Brandy @ Kingdom Academy Homeschool
Meg @ Adventures with Jude
Sarah @ Delivering Grace
Laura @ Day by Day in Our World
Julie @ Nurturing Learning
Nicole @ Journey to Excellence
Adriana @ Homeschool Ways

Still wanting more ideas about what Homeschooling Essentials might look like? Visit one of these ladies from The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew.
5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “5 Ps of Homeschooling Essentials – Paper

  1. brandymelissa January 22, 2014 at 9:42 am Reply

    It’s funny, I have a whole box of scrap paper and my hubby is always asking me why I have to keep every little piece! However, that box comes in handy for so much stuff!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 22, 2014 at 10:21 am Reply

      I know! I have had to start limiting the size that I keep. My kids will keep everything! Even the tiniest scrap! But they do come in handy!

  2. Lisa McKinney January 22, 2014 at 10:23 am Reply

    Bwahahahaha. I joking wrote in an earlier post that i could wax eloquently about the sheer quantity of paper we use. I buy boxes of reams of paper from Costco each year. we have a box of construction paper. I have pads of lined writing paper. Paper everywhere!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 22, 2014 at 10:53 am Reply

      When I read your post about choosing to not talk about paper, I laughed! yup – paper everywhere. Oh well, the kids love it! And I love seeing their creations.

  3. sarahelisabeth January 22, 2014 at 11:02 am Reply

    This made me laugh but it is so true. We have to keep scrap paper too-I would hate to use good new paper for paper aeroplanes!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 22, 2014 at 11:06 am Reply

      I know! If they, by some chance, get the new paper for something like paper airplanes, I have been known to make them decorate it in some way just so that paper gets a full use!

  4. […] 5 Ps of Homeschooling Essentials – Paper […]

Leave a Reply

