Fruit of the Spirit – Self-Control

self-control title

Looking back through my posts, I realized that the final post in the Fruit of the Spirit series was forgotten. Sorry about that! We have been blessed to be on The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew and this first month of the new year has kept me hopping. But, I don’t want to go without finishing Fruit of the Spirit. Self-Control is the last installment and it is a biggie, as far as I am concerned. In my opinion, it encapsulates all of the others. If you have self-control, you have figured out how to show love and joy, have peace and patience, show kindness to others and yourself, look to the goodness and faithfulness of the Lord, and be gentle in spirit. Self-control is needed and is often overlooked in the details of day to day life.

I am thinking about writing another series focusing more in detail on self-control. I need it and I am working hard with each of the girls on showing control in those difficult situations where what you really want to do is throw yourself down on the floor like a 2 year old, scream, holler, and kick. It is just as hard to remember to bring this up for them to recognize as it is to demonstrate it myself in all situations. In other words – impossible. But I am trying.

So, on to the activities and worksheets…

Self-control – what does the Bible say PDF

Self-control – coloring page PDF

Self-control – handwriting practice cursive

Self-control – handwriting practice print copy

Self-control – handwriting practice print

I have intended to do a final project with this series and have not gotten it done yet. The plan was to create a button tree and label the roots with the Fruit of the Spirit. My thinking in labeling the roots is that the roots nourish and strengthen the rest of the tree. The Fruit of the Spirit makes for a strong Christian. If we put these characteristics into practice, we will be much stronger, holding fast with roots that are based in the Spirit.

I hope that you and your family have been blessed by part or all of this study. I would love to know if you have used any part of it. Feel free to use this study and share this study. All I ask is that you link directly to the blog and give credit to me. May God bless you in your journey to be a child of the one and only God. At Home.

 

 

Other posts in this series:

Love
Joy
Peace
Patience
Kindness
Goodness
Faithfulness
Gentleness

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Fruit of the Spirit – Self-Control

  1. ONE SPIRITUAL FRUIT January 31, 2014 at 1:13 pm Reply

    […] Fruit of the Spirit – Self-Control […]

Leave a Reply

