5 Days of Our Favorite Books – Mom’s Favorites

Mom's Favorites title

I’m going to start off this 5 day series with my choices of favorite books. The only problem I see is: how do I narrow it down?!?

You see, I love books. I can do the ebook, Kindle reading, and such but I don’t really like it. I love to hold the book in my hand. To turn the pages. To breathe in the smell of the older books. To find little scraps of paper that others have used as book marks and wonder about the previous owners. To have something tangible in my hand.

This is the reason that I have several Bibles in my home. I prefer to have the pages to turn when it comes to studying and reading the Bible. So, the Bible would be my first favorite, as J likes to say. I read my Bible daily and my daily reading is out of The One Year Bible. I also have the NIV study Bible that I carry to Bible class and church and Ladies’ Bible class. I have a KJV that I was given in 1st grade for saying the 66 books. I have several others that I used over the years but have worn out or don’t use because I prefer to read in a different version.

My second favorite is a toss up. Of several hundred different books and series. I love children’s books, different juvenile chapter books, anything by Louisa May Alcott or Laura Ingalls Wilder, and a whole slew of other books that I find interesting and fun. So, instead of actually writing about some that I like, I’m just going to do the rest of this with pictures.

A cute series about a family of girls.

A cute series about a family of girls.

Charlotte's Web framed

A classic that I have enjoyed sharing with the girls.

Cheaper by the Dozen framed

A fun story about a large family with plenty of quirks all their own. This one is lots of fun to read.

A non-fiction book about a man who bicycled down the Danube River and his experience along the way.

A non-fiction book about a man who bicycled down the Danube River and his experience along the way.

I love Eric Carle's work and this book of fairy tale stories is one of the best.

I enjoy Eric Carle’s work and this book of fairy tale stories is one of the best.

A lovely biography of Helen Keller.

A lovely biography of Helen Keller.

All of James Herriot's writing are interesting. This is a collection taken from his other works but I have enjoyed all of his writings.

All of James Herriot’s writings are interesting. This is a collection taken from his other works.

Julia Andrews has created an inspiring collection that brightens any day. Poetry is a particular favorite but her collection is so much fun.

Julia Andrews has created an inspiring collection that brightens any day. Poetry is a particular favorite but her collection is so much fun.

Again, anything by Laura Ingalls Wilder is a favorite with me. From her writing to biographies about her and where she lived - I enjoy them all.

Again, anything by Laura Ingalls Wilder is a favorite with me. From her writing to biographies about her and where she lived – I enjoy them all.

All of Tomie dePaola's works are good but I especially enjoy the legends.

All of Tomie dePaola’s works are good but I especially enjoy the legends.

Anything by Louisa May Alcott is a pleasant read for me. Her writing is something that I really enjoy.

I absolutely love anything by Louisa May Alcott. Her writing is something that I really enjoy.

Funny, quirky little story that will make you smile.

Funny, quirky little story that will make you smile.

A retelling of the true story about the little girl who wrote to Abraham Lincoln.

A retelling of the true story about the little girl who wrote to Abraham Lincoln.

A sweet biography of Georgia O'Keeffe.

A sweet biography of Georgia O’Keeffe.

I have to say – I was kind of glad that one of our large book cases was packed up because I didn’t actually have access to all of my books. I think I would have had another 10 or 20 at minimum if I could have seen those as well. I can think of a number of biographies that I like, some music books, a fictional series about quilting and friendship, and so much more! This is a fun past time that our whole family shares. Come back tomorrow to find out which books are E’s favorites. She is 9, almost 10, and has the same affliction I do – an enjoyment of all books. I think her list is bigger than mine. See you tomorrow. At Home.

Want to know what the others in the family chose?
Dad’s choices
E (age 9)
L (age 7)
J (age 5)

The following bloggers are also doing a 5 day series and each of their topics are listed below. I would encourage you to go visit each of their blogs daily this week to see what they have to share.

Nicole @ Journey to Excellence ~ Missouri
Dusty @ To the Moon and Back ~ Babywearing
Kristi @ The Potter’s Hand Academy ~ Spring Studies
Jennifer @ Royal Little Lambs ~ Essential Oils
Annette @ A Net in Time ~ Science
Jen @ Happy Little Homemaker ~ Frugal Fitness
Meg @ Adventures with Jude ~ Homeschooling from the Kitchen
Tauna @ Proverbial Homemaker ~ A Christ-Centered Home

Want to see even more? The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew has lots of bloggers doing a 5 day series this week. Head over to see which ones catch your eye.
April Blog Hop

Tagged:

10 thoughts on “5 Days of Our Favorite Books – Mom’s Favorites

  1. Kristi @ The Potter's Hand Academy April 9, 2014 at 8:55 am Reply

    Some of these are DEFINITELY favorites, some I absolutely HAVE to check out! Thanks so much for sharing!!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome April 9, 2014 at 12:38 pm Reply

      You’re welcome. One of my favorite things about sharing books I enjoy is finding out that other like the same ones OR to find out that they have found something new to try.

  2. agilitynut April 11, 2014 at 10:25 pm Reply

    i know many, but not all of these books. I too love to read. 🙂 (annette @ a net in time)>

  3. […] to know what everyone else in the family chose? Dad’s choices Mom’s choices L (age 7) J (age […]

  4. […] Mom’s choices E (age 9) L (age 7) J (age 5) […]

  5. […] to see what others in the family chose? Dad’s choices Mom’s choices L (age 7) E (age […]

  6. […] to see what others in the family chose? Dad’s choices Mom’s choices E (age 9) J (age […]

  7. […] At Home: where life happens 5 Days of Our Favorite Books – Mom’s Favorites & 5 Days of Our Favorite Books – Dad’s […]

  8. Reading Recommendations | At Home August 5, 2017 at 10:41 pm Reply

    […] one from a blog hop a couple of years ago where I shared my favorite books: https://3gigglygirlsathome.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/5-days-of-favorite-books-moms-favorites/ What have you read recently that I should check out? Please share with […]

Leave a Reply

