P is for… Planning

P is for PlanningI know I said earlier that I am not much of a planner. I am working on balancing that with planning to allow for a smooth week each time a new week comes around. (Why is it that it happens so often!?!) I want to learn to use my planner better. It is so pretty and cheerful and full of encouragement. It deserves to be used, right? Just look at it!

TOS Hey Mama Planner

TOS Planner encouragement

I am working on it and part of my goal in planning is to set out a generic weekly plan that we can follow most weeks. So, in the hopes of following it better, I am sharing it with you. This is what I have planned out as a generic week.

schedule

Another way in which I am working on my planning is by having E, the oldest giggly girl, become more independent in completing the work that she can do on her own. We are in the process of reviewing My Student Logbook and she going to be using it. We are just now getting it set up and will begin using it next week, as we being our new school year. Look for our review of it in mid-September. Already, though, I am liking it and considering purchasing the PDF for the middle giggly girl.

My Student Logbook

Maybe someone has a suggestion to help me. Here’s my struggle: I enjoy all of the pieces of curriculum that we have chosen and they all seem to be things that are set up to do on a daily basis. Or, at least, they work best being reviewed on a daily basis. But, I don’t want to drive the girls. I want to have a relaxed, fun educational experience. How do you balance that? If you can, please share your weekly schedule with me so I can get some ideas. Thanks.

Meanwhile, this is what we are going to start out with. At Home.

This post is part of the Back To Homeschool series that the TOS Crew are doing. Please visit some of my friends to find more encouragement and resources. If you want to see all of those participating, click on the picture.
Back to Homeschool Blog Hop

Lisa Marie @ The Canadian Homeschooler
Lexi @ Lextin Academy
Karen @ My Harbor Lights
Jen @ Happy Little Homemaker
Joanie @ Simple Living Mama
Lisa @ Home to 4 Kiddos
Dawn @ Double O Farms
Tess @ Circling Through This Life

I am also linking up this post in the ABC blogging series at Ben and Me.

Ben and Me
Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “P is for… Planning

  1. RavenThreads August 16, 2014 at 5:54 am Reply

    I love my Hey Momma planner too! Of course, I fill it in at lunch time and again at the end of the day with what we did instead of beforehand :-)….I always have a basic idea of where we’re heading, but leave many of the details to the children, so it works better not to plan to far ahead for us.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 16, 2014 at 12:20 pm Reply

      I tend to do that also but am feeling that if I want my oldest to be more independent then I am going to have to do some pre-planning. So, we will be doing a combination of the two this year, I think. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Tess August 16, 2014 at 3:28 pm Reply

    I am in the process of setting up both my Hey Mama planner and the Student Log Book. I am using the Hey Mama planner with my special needs daughter. She is developmentally about 1st grade/6 years old. I really can’t plan actual daily activities too far in advance because I need to go at her pace so I plan to do is plan which subjects/curriculum I use and put that on the weekly plan and then fill in what we do after. Not sure if that makes sense. I will be using the Student Log Book with my 17 year old who really just needs the accountability and for her we do want to push her to follow the schedules provided with most of her curriculum.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 16, 2014 at 4:31 pm Reply

      Thanks for that input, Tess. It does make sense and confirms what I was feeling like doing but was hesitant. I set the Hey Mama planner up so that I could use it to fill in as we go but to give me something to aim for during the week, making sure we cover all of the activities I want to hit (except for reviews – I’ll need to figure out a way to add that). But I can make sure that E is doing what she needs to with the My Student Logbook. Thanks for sharing. It helped a lot.

Leave a Reply

