A Review: Gold City’s Hymn Revival

 Gold City titleI enjoy listening to beautiful harmonies, rich voices, and hymns. Prior to a few weeks ago, I had not heard of Gold City. Gold City is a gospel quartet that was originally formed over 30 years ago. They have the beautiful harmonies and rich voices that make listening to a quartet (or quintet) such a lovely experience. Gold City is reminiscent of other groups that I have heard and enjoy listening to. I believe that this will be another favorite.

Gold City Hymn Revival

On August 19, Gold City will be releasing their newest CD – Hymn Revival – through New Haven Records. (They shared a press release on their site.) It is a collection of hymns, both old and some newer ones. There are a few that I didn’t know prior to this CD and they are just beautiful. Both standard renditions and more modern arrangements make these songs a fun surprise. Hymn Revival is currently available for pre-buy at Family Christian stores.
I would like to note that this is not an a cappella CD. The instruments used are not overpowering and take a definite background to the voices. The focus is certainly on the hymns, the words that are being sung.
Beautifully sung, I would recommend you check out Gold City. You can do so by visiting their website at www.goldcityqt.com. I have enjoyed listening to this group that is new-to-me. At Home.

Track Listing:

Nothing But The Blood * Power Of The Cross * I Must Tell Jesus * Part The Waters/I Need Thee Every Hour * Redeemed * He Hideth My Soul * Farther Along * Power In The Blood * In Christ Alone/The Solid Rock * Victory In Jesus * Great Is Thy Faithfulness

 

**Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this CD through Family Christian in exchange for this review. I was not required to write a positive review nor compensated in any other way. All opinions expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with FTC regulations.

 

 

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

