Q is for… Quit

Q is for Quit

“Quit ye like men. Be strong.” I Corinthians 16:13

This is a verse the girls memorized last school year and it keeps coming back to me. This verse has been running through my head almost continuously for a few days now. I have been trying to determine what it is that I need to say about it. There is so much that could be said. I have been thinking about it because there is so much I need to quit. I think I will share three things, though.

1) Quit being like those around us who are not Christians.

Don’t be like those of this world who are only of this world. Be different. Be courageous. Be kind and loving. Be like the Father. Listen to different music. Watch different movies. Read different books.  Don’t go with the flow. Quit worrying. Be confident in the plans the Father has for you.

2) Quit being weak. Be strong.

This is not easy. Life pushes us to be less than our best and punishes us in various ways. We struggle under the weight of this life. But God is there, lifting us up. He is our strength. “You are my strength when I am weak. You are the treasure that I seek. You are my all in all.” I really like that song and, like this verse, it keeps coming back to me. We are often led to believe that we are not enough and that leads us to be weak. God tells us that we are enough, because HE is enough, and because of that, we are strong. “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” Psalm 46:1

3) Quit.

Quit saying later. Say yes to the creator of this world and the one who knows just what you need.

Quit saying quality makes up for quantity. “Quality time” is a misnomer in our world and is used too often to excuse us for not spending as much time as we should with our God, with our families, in His word, on our knees, helping others.

Quit listening to the wrong stuff. Listen for the Lord’s voice in all that is around you. His creation speaks to us. His word speaks to us. His voice is what we should be listening for.

Quit rushing around. “Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

 

My prayer for today is that you are able to quit the things that distract you from what God desires from you and be, in Him, all that He has planned for you.

“For I know the plans that I have for you…” Jeremiah 29:11

 

At Home.

 

 

Linking up with ABC Blogging at Benandme.com.

Ben and Me

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Q is for… Quit

  1. Erica B August 24, 2014 at 3:18 pm Reply

    Good stuff here! Very inspiring. Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

