J is for … Joy

Something that has been on my heart a lot lately is joy. What is it? Where does it come from? What does it mean? How do we show it? How do we see it? How do we share it?

Joy is defined on Dictionary.com as

the emotion of great delight or happiness caused by something exceptionally good or satisfying; keen pleasure; elation.

Just reading through that brings a feeling of joy to my heart, though it is heavy with worldly thoughts. The reason: when I think of JOY, I think of God and all that He has done and is doing in my life.

A while back, I wrote a study about the Fruit of the Spirit, of which joy is a part. I shared that in this blog post. Feel free to go back and look at it. I did. I looked at the verses I chose for that study.

Some of the verses I chose:

Deuteronomy 16:15 For seven days celebrate the festival to the LORD your God at the place the LORD will choose. For the LORD your God will bless you in all your harvest and in all the work of your hands, and your joy will be complete.

Psalm 5:11 But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you.

I Peter 1:8 Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy,

Proverbs 15:20 A wise son brings joy to his father but a foolish man despises his mother.

 

Luke 24:52 Then they worshiped him and returned to Jerusalem with great joy.

James 1:2 Consider it pure joy my brothers when you experience trials of many kinds.

It showed me that joy can be found in any number of different place and any number of different ways. But there is one common thread that runs through joy – it can be found in God. He is the source of joy. He has plans for each of us and He will guide us to joy that is everlasting.

JOY

This is the word I will be focusing on this year. Finding joy in everything. Every day. Every circumstance. Joy. Keen pleasure. Elation. Great delight. Happiness.

What God wants for us is to find joy, pleasure in the gifts He has given us. As your new year begins, I hope you are able to find the joy God has placed within your life and that you will join me in focusing on joy. Focusing on it. Finding it. Sharing it. Bringing it to others. Thanking God for it.

JOY

 

At Home.

Leave a Reply

