Seeking Peace and Refuge in Times of Worry

Seeking peace

I know many are praying much the same as I am right now – peace. Peace is needed in so many areas of our lives. Tonight, I have done what I often forget to do but should do when I am struggling with something and needing peace: Go to God. Specifically, seek Him in His word. I am going to share with you some verses that I was looking up tonight as I was seeking God’s peace in my heart and relief from my human tendency to worry. I find great comfort in the book of Psalm so that is where I went.

 

Psalm 122:6-9 Pray for the peace of Jerusalem! May they be secure who love you. Peace be within your walls and security within your towers. For my brothers and companions’ sake I will say “Peace be within you!” For the sake of the house of the Lord our God, I will seek your good.

Psalm 29:11 May the Lord give strength to his people! May the Lord bless his people with peace!

Psalm 34:14 Turn away from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.

Psalm 37:11 But the meek shall inherit the land and delight themselves in abundant peace.

Psalm 85:10 Steadfast love and faithfulness meet; righteousness and peace kiss each other.

Psalm 119:165 Great peace have those who love your law; nothing can make them stumble.

Psalm 128:6 May you see your children’s children! Peace be upon Israel!

Psalm 4:8 In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.

Psalm 37:37 Mark the blameless and behold the upright, for there is a future for the man of peace.

Psalm 85:8 Let me hear what God the Lord will speak, for he will speak peace to his people, to his saints; but let them not turn back to folly.

Psalm 39:12 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear to my cry; hold not your peace at my tears! For I am a sojourner with you, a guest, like all my fathers.

Peace

Psalm 28:6-9
Blessed be the Lord! For he has heard the voice of my pleas for mercy.
The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.
The Lord is the strength of his people; he is the saving refuge of his anointed.
Oh, save your people and bless your heritage! Be their shepherd and carry them forever.

Psalm 37:39-40
The salvation of the righteous is from the Lord;
he is their stronghold in the time of trouble.
The Lord helps them and delivers them;
he delivers them from the wicked and save them,
because they take refuge in him.

Tonight, I am seeking refuge in him. And because I know and trust his word, I know that peace will be mine. I know myself enough to know that it may be interrupted as I struggle with being human and having worry but I also know that I will again seek refuge in my God. And He will be my stronghold.

May you also have peace tonight in our world of chaos, remembering that we are sojourners here. At Home.

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Seeking Peace and Refuge in Times of Worry

  1. KymPossible May 18, 2015 at 9:18 am Reply

    Great collection of Scripture to help us focus on God’s peace – praying for you today!

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga May 18, 2015 at 2:18 pm Reply

    it is so good to look to God in times of stress.. it’s the only way to truly find peace.

  3. brandymelissa May 19, 2015 at 2:51 pm Reply

    This is wonderful. I am in the midst of a time of worry and struggle right now myself and I have been working on memorizing Matthew 6: 25-34. I find it brings me a lot of peace.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome May 19, 2015 at 3:53 pm Reply

      Thank you. Finding peace in scripture is such a blessings. I will pray that your worry and struggle ease quickly.

Leave a Reply

