Heaven Holds All To Me

Heaven holds all to meWhen I look around this world in which we live, I have a choice. I can see all that is happening and I can worry, fear, predict terrible things, and in general be upset. Or, I can choose the better way. I can see those who need the Lord and pray for them, try to reach out. I can see the Lord’s hand at work in lives around me and I can praise God for that work. I can see hope and a chance to strengthen my faith and encourage others to make theirs stronger, too. This is my choice.

I know that God sits on his throne and he places people where he desires them to be. Sometimes, it is because the world is choosing to follow him. Sometimes, it is because they are not. I don’t know what is going to happen tomorrow. Or next week. Or next year. I cannot fathom the world in which my girls will live. If it continues along the sinful path it is on now, I don’t want to know now. I would be too scared.

So, today, I am saying God is in charge and I trust in Him. I am focusing on joy this year and the chorus here is perfect: Joy without measure will be my treasure. I am going to a better place when I leave this earth and it will be filled with joy. This earth holds nothing for me that is worth giving up eternity for so I will hold fast to God’s word. And I will look for those that are singing me to heaven when I leave here. That is the picture that this hymn brings to mind for me and one of the reasons I like it so much. Heaven being opened with millions singing me home.

Heaven Holds All To Me (Earth Holds No Treasures)
words and music by Tillit S. Teddlie (1885-1987)

Earth holds no treasures but perish with using,
However precious they be;
Yet there’s a country to which I am going:
Heaven holds all to me.

Chorus:
Heaven holds all to me, to me,
Brighter its glory will be;
Joy without measure will be my treasure:
Heaven holds all to me.

Out on the hills of that wonderful country,
Happy contented and free,
Loved ones are waiting and watching my coming:
Heaven holds all to me.

Chorus

Why should I long for the world with its sorrows,
When in that home o’er the sea,
Millions are singing the wonderful story?
Heaven holds all to me.

Chorus

By the way, I enjoy listening to a cappella music and while I was writing this post, I was listening to this hymn and others on Great Songs Chapel, a site provided by Oklahoma Christian Univeristy. These are heartfelt recordings of real people singing joyfully to our God. And it make my heart sing with joy.

At Home.

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

