Home – hymn & July Blogging Challenge

Home

Today’s challenge word is Home. Quite appropriate for the Lord’s day and worship time. We spend much of our time at home, cleaning our earthly home, thinking about what we are going to do when we get home, buying things for our home and so much more.

Do you spend as much working towards your eternal home? Do you read your Bible? Do you teach your children what they need to know to grow in faith, belief, and knowledge to be able to choose God when the time comes? Where will your eternal home be? Mine will be in heaven. This is something I know. I believe in God, in Jesus being sent to earth and becoming human, humbling himself to take on my sin and the sin of all the world, dying on the cross, being raised again, and ascending to be with our Heavenly Father. I know He will return some day to take all those who have followed his word to live with him in eternity. I have been baptized for the remission of my sin, as God told us to be in the New Testament (Acts 2:38). And I work towards being stronger in my faith and knowledge of God’s word.

I am not perfect. But I do try and I ask for the forgiveness that God so readily grants to those who are in Him. So, “When the Roll is Called Up Yonder”, I will be there. That is the hymn I want to share with you today.

This has always been a favorite of our girls. They come by it naturally. Their dad loved it as a little boy. We sing it often and with great faith that, yes, we will be there when the roll is called up yonder.When The Roll is Called Up Yonder

v.1 When the trumpet of the Lord shall sound, and time shall be no more,
And the morning breaks, eternal, bright and fair;
When the saved of earth shall gather over on the other shore,
And the roll is called up yonder, I’ll be there.

Refrain
When the roll, is called up yon-der,

When the roll, is called up yon-der,
When the roll, is called up yon-der,
When the roll is called up yonder I’ll be there.

v.2 On that bright and cloudless morning when the dead in Christ shall rise,
And the glory of His resurrection share;
When His chosen ones shall gather to their home beyond the skies,
And the roll is called up yonder, I’ll be there.

Refrain

Let us labor for the Master from the dawn till setting sun,
Let us talk of all His wondrous love and care;
Then when all of life is over, and our work on earth is done,
And the roll is called up yonder, I’ll be there.

Refrain

At Home.

Linking up at A Glimpse of Our Life and This Day Has Great Potential for the July Blogging Challenge.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

