Jesus Paid It All (Gone Is All My Debt of Sin)

To continue my plan of sharing a hymn with you each Sunday, I am borrowing from our preacher’s lesson tonight at worship. It just hit me and worked together with thoughts I was already pondering.

This evening’s lesson at church was based on Romans 12:1-2 and a short story titled “Hope for the Flowers.” The emphasis in both is on change, not comforming to the world around us, and searching, testing, and being a part of God’s perfect will.

Romans 121-2

The story’s main character was a caterpillar who knew there was more to life than what he was experiencing so he went searching. One thing he found during his search was a lot of hardship and trial. He also found a friend with whom he was happy. When his friend figured out that you had to “die” to this life to become your full, better self that God planned, she tried hard to share that with her friend. He had to figure out first, though, that change was necessary. He did this, made a great change within, and emerged a better self. There are quite a few lessons in this story for our lives and allowing the change to happen, even seeking that change that God desires for each of us.

We spent an hour outside one day looking at our surrounding. What we found were many caterpillars, searching for something, though we didn't know what. Maybe they were searching for the

We spent an hour outside one day looking at our surrounding. What we found were many caterpillars, searching for something, though we didn’t know what. Maybe they were searching for the “great change within.”

In light of that change, the metamorphosis we have to choose to be God’s and to accept the gift he is offering, I am also going to use the hymn that Mr. Ernie shared during the lesson that deals with changing who we are to be who God designed us to be. It just touched a chord in my heart. I hope he doesn’t mind.

Jesus Paid It All

JESUS PAID IT ALL

Lyrics: M. S. Shaffer (1917)
Music: Samuel W. Beazley (1917)

Gone is all my debt of sin,
A great change is wrought within,
And to live I now begin,
Risen from the fall;
Yet the debt I did not pay—
Someone died for me one day,
Sweeping all the debt away—
Jesus paid it all.

Refrain:
Jesus died and paid it all, yes,
On the cross of Calvary, Oh
And my stony heart was melted
At His dying, dying call;
Oh, His heart in shame was broken
On the tree for you and me, yes,
And the debt, the debt is canceled,
Jesus paid it, paid it all.

Oh, I hope to please Him now,
Light of joy is on my brow,
As at His dear feet I bow,
Safe within His love.
Making His the debt I owed,
Freedom true He has bestowed;
So I’m singing on the road
To my home above.

Refrain

Sinner, not for me alone
Did the Son of God atone;
Your debt, too, He made His own,
On the cruel tree.
Come to Him with all your sin;
Be as white as snow within;
Full salvation you may win
And rejoice with me.

Refrain

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

