Just As I Am

Just As I Am

What do you see when you look in the mirror? Do you look at what is reflected or do you try to see yourself as God sees you?

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

God loves and welcomes us just the way we are, sin and all. He knows but that does not deter his love for us. In fact, that is a big part of the reason He is waiting for us – so that He can redeem us. That is the message behind this hymn. God is waiting for you and for me. Just As I Am. Will you come?

Just As I Am

     words by Charlotte Elliott (w. 1834)
     music by William Bradbury (w. 1849)

Just as I am! without one plea,
But that Thy blood was shed for me,
And that Thou bidd’st me come to Thee,
O Lamb of God, I come! I come!

Just as I am! and waiting not
To rid my soul of one dark blot,
To Thee, whose blood can cleanse each spot,
O Lamb of God, I come! I come!

Just as I am! Thou wilt receive,
Wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve;
Because Thy promise I believe,
O Lamb of God, I come! I come!

Just as I am! Thy love unknown
Has broken every barrier down;
Now to be Thine, yea, Thine alone,
O Lamb of God, I come! I come!

words by Charlotte Elliott (w. 1834)
music by William Bradbury (w. 1849)

 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

