He Leadeth Me

He Leadeth Me

This has been my favorite hymn for as long as I can remember. It always lifts my spirit to remember that He leads me, no matter where I am. It goes right along with one of my favorite scriptures: For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord (Jeremiah 29:11).

God leads.

He has plans.

I just need to follow.

 

He Leadeth Me

words: Joseph H. Gilmore (1862)
music: William Bradbury (1864)

1 He leadeth me: O blessed thought!
O words with heavenly comfort fraught!
Whate’er I do, where’er I be,
still ’tis God’s hand that leadeth me.

Refrain:
He leadeth me, he leadeth me;
by his own hand he leadeth me:
his faithful follower I would be,
for by his hand he leadeth me.

2 Sometimes mid scenes of deepest gloom,
sometimes where Eden’s flowers bloom,
by waters calm, o’er troubled sea,
still ’tis God’s hand that leadeth me. Refrain

3 Lord, I would clasp thy hand in mine,
nor ever murmur nor repine;
content, whatever lot I see,
since ’tis my God that leadeth me. Refrain

4 And when my task on earth is done,
when, by thy grace, the victory’s won,
e’en death’s cold wave I will not flee,
since God through Jordan leadeth me. Refrain

 

Want to hear it? Check out Great Songs Chapel.

At Home.

Linking up at:

Counting Pinecones
Tagged:

2 thoughts on “He Leadeth Me

  1. Carter Chaos December 2, 2015 at 10:38 am Reply

    One of my favorites!

  2. Brenda December 7, 2015 at 2:02 pm Reply

    Another great hymn.. Thank you for linking up and sharing

Leave a Reply

