A Book Review for Math

Math doesn't suck pin imageI am reviewing this because I like it. I bought the book and have received nothing from the company or author for this review.

Okay, I have not been blunt about our math struggles but I have mentioned them over the past couple of years. Well, I was at a local bookstore looking for a math series that was recommended to me when I stumbled up on a very interesting find.

Do you know Danica McKellar? I didn’t know the name but evidently, most people will. Does The Wonder Years or The West Wing ring a bell? Yep – she’s THAT actress. Well, she evidently had problems with math when she was younger but was able to overcome. She even quit acting for a while to go to college and get a MATH DEGREE! She is back in acting but is also writing now. And she wrote a math book. Hmmm. . .

Well, I picked it up because, honestly, the title got me. I don’t like the title but I love the book! The title is “Math Doesn’t Suck: how to survive middle school math without losing your mind or breaking a nail.” I picked it up and read the first few pages and knew I was buying that book. It has been a great addition for us already.

I have read about half of it, laughing quite a bit and learning more about math than I knew. I’ll keep on reading until I am done. Then, I’ll be going through it again. Because Miss E is going through it.

Miss E had read through the first chapter. Without complaint! AND – get this – she has laughingly done the math exercises! WOOHOO!!!! Of course, when you get to draw monkey and palm trees with the numbers it does make it more fun. Factors and factoring and prime factors – check. Easy as that. We did save a couple of the exercises on prime factoring to do tomorrow after some sleep and today’s exercises to see how much stuck. But, absolutely no fuss or even a hint of one! I am so excited!!!!

I’ll give you a quick idea about what is covered:

  • factors, prime factors,
  • fractions (simple, complex, adding, subtracting, multiplying, dividing, mixed, improper, etc.)
  • order of operations
  • decimals
  • converting fractions to decimals and back
  • percentages and converting to and from fractions and decimals
  • ratios
  • rates
  • proportions
  • unit conversions

With a joyful, easy conversation, Danica brings to world of numbers down to a case that makes sense. The start of every chapter shows where in REAL LIFE math helps you out. It is a situation that many teens and tweens will understand and relate to. Some not. But the situations are fun (and funny) just the same. Danica takes the struggle out of the math and, dare I say it, makes it fun!

I can’t wait to work through more of this with Miss E. Might just bring math to life in a way that she understands. I am still looking to get the series that I went to the bookstore for but this is a fantastic find along the way.

At Home.

Tagged: , , ,

11 thoughts on “A Book Review for Math

  1. Melanie (Wren) January 14, 2016 at 7:45 am Reply

    Love this! Off to the library website to put it on hold! 🙂

  2. wendy January 14, 2016 at 11:12 am Reply

    What a great find! We have to pay off some library fines, then I’m totally going to get it. (I just checked, and there’s a copy available locally.)

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 14, 2016 at 2:19 pm Reply

      Yay for available through the library! I’m sorry you have fines. We end up with them more often than I care to admit so I just call it part of my contribution for keeping my girls in reading material.

  3. KymPossible January 15, 2016 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Found this at our library, as well as her book for Grades 7-9, titled Kiss My Math.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 17, 2016 at 9:32 pm Reply

      That’s is wonderful that your library had it. I’ll definitely be checking the library when we get done with this one.

  4. incrediblesmom January 18, 2016 at 5:00 pm Reply

    What an interesting sounding book as well as the Kiss My Math one mentioned above. Must check the library.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 18, 2016 at 5:27 pm Reply

      It has been good, so far. Today, I caught her reading ahead. Loving it!

  5. […] – Math Doesn’t Suck (see my review) and a geometry workbook, as well as some printable worksheets from Super Teacher Worksheets (see […]

  6. Jennifer Fraunfelder February 2, 2016 at 1:56 pm Reply

    Because of your review I immediately went to Amazon and found a Very Good Used copy for $4.35 with Prime Shipping included and scooped it up immediately. It will be here on Thursday. We have a Free Prime trial that ends next week so I took advantage of it and finding a great used and affordable copy as well. I can’t wait to get it and look through it. My girls will not need it until the summer, but I will be ready for them when they are. 🙂 Thanks for the great review and for sharing your awesome find.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome February 2, 2016 at 9:47 pm Reply

      I hope it is as good for your family as it has been for us. I had to stop my daughter in her reading of it because I didn’t want her to get confused before we had finished working through fractions. She was ready to read it all the way through. She is getting it! I am so excited and she is starting to show a bit of confidence in this area again. I hope you are pleased with it.

  7. […] and using printable worksheets that I can pick and choose from. See the book we are using by reading this post. For the worksheets, see the review on Super Teacher […]

Leave a Reply

