Computer Building

We jumped into a completely new world today – computer building and coding. I shouldn’t claim it is completely new since we did simple coding back in the ’80s with an Apple IIe. But somehow, this just seems so much more daunting than that was to me when I was in 4th grade.

Kano computer kit

The giggly girls were given a click-and-go computer building kit for Christmas from Kano. We were supposed to be at my parents’ house when they opened it with their uncle present. He was the one who was supposed to guide them through the first processes of this. Well, that day after Christmas blizzard played havoc with our travel abilities and he had to go home before we ever got there. So, I ended up having to jump into this with them.

Today, I braved it. We got it all together and the girls are now happily giggling together while trying to figure out one of the apps on the computer. I have a lot of learning to do, based on listening to them figuring things out over there. So far, they are playing with a Minecraft building app. There is a Snake app as well. They have an art coding app and a music creation coding app, as well. These apps, in case you haven’t figured it out, are a lot about learning to code. I like that. That is a skill that will take them far!

Kano computer putting it together

So, the kit was pretty neat and, luckily for me, pretty simple. It was basically a click-and-go. We hooked it up to our TV with an HDMI cord. We have a small table that we can move in front of the TV so that they have a place to put the keyboard. So far, it is working great.

As the girls use this more, I am hoping they will get more and more interested in figuring out coding and computer language. If nothing else, they now know the basics of what is inside of a computer. It is pretty neat.

If you are interested, you can check out Kano.me. Their website gives some pretty good information.

For now, the laughter and experimentation with coding that I am seeing and hearing is bringing joy to my life. And, staying true to my word of the year, I am not in control over there. I am letting them figure it out on their own.

Kano computer and codingAt Home.

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Computer Building

  1. rodandmegs January 16, 2016 at 10:28 am Reply

    You are the WINNER of the fun schooling journal for grades 6-8! Please email me at rodandmegs@yahoo.com with your mailing address.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 17, 2016 at 9:31 pm Reply

      Thanks! I’ve been wanting to see one of these in person. This is perfect.

Leave a Reply

