Ancient Words – hymn

Thanks to Becky Blackmon and her newest book “The Pearl Seeker” this song was brought back to my mind. We are studying Becky’s book in Ladies’ Bible class and I am so blessed by it already. Becky shared this song in the first chapter and I have been humming it all week.

In my head all week long, encouraging me to spend time with these “ancient words”, this song has brought an intense focus to me this week. I am embarrassed to say that I didn’t spend nearly enough time with God’s word this week. I haven’t set a goal for this year and that has really been a negative impact on my study. I am going to find one and spend more time with these “ancient words” that God gave us to guide us through this world. I love this song and hope you do, too.

Ancient Words

written by Lynn DeShazo (2001)

Holy words long preserved
For our walk in this world
They resound with God’s own heart
Oh, let the ancient words impart

Words of Life, words of Hope
Give us strength, help us cope
In this world, where e’er we roam
Ancient words will guide us home

Ancient words ever true
Changing me and changing you
We have come with open hearts
Oh, let the ancient words impart

Holy words of our Faith
Handed down to this age
Came to us through sacrifice
Oh heed the faithful words of Christ

Holy words long preserved
For our walk in this world
They resound with God’s own heart
Oh let the ancient words impart

Ancient words ever true
Changing me and changing you
We have come with open hearts
Oh, let the ancient words impart

 

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

