Middle School Monday – slow and steady

I was reminded of something myself when I wrote it on a friend’s wall on social media today: slow and steady wins the race.

Slow and steady

We all know the story of the Tortoise and the Hare or one of its many variations. Running really fast wears you out so that you don’t have the steam to finish well. Working through something slow and steady, continuously cautious about being diligent and intentional, means that you have the strength and steam to finish whatever it is well.
I needed that reminder today. For a bundle of reasons.
I don’t know about you but I often find myself working through a checklist and thinking something along the lines of “One more down. X number left to go.” Everything becomes just another box on the list. This happens all too often. And I begin to feel like the hare in the fable – running as fast as I can to the next box to check off the list.
So, today, I encourage you (and myself) to slow down and be intentional about the time spent. Whether it be in educating our families, knowing all too soon they will have fully-feathered wings ready to take them on the wind to where God’s will is, or spending time snuggling with a little one who needs it or just trying to get through that next math assignment without losing my temper. I am trying to be intentional about hearing what they mean not just what they say. I am trying to be intentional about making sure the needs are met not just the understanding. I am trying to spend the necessary time for my children to feel loved and seen and heard. Contrary to the old saying “children should be seen and not heard”, they need both.
I encourage you to be intentional this week about both seeing and hearing your children as you go about your checklists. Slow down, like the turtle, and make sure you have the steam to finish your day – your week – your year – well.
At Home.

Linking up:

My Full Heart: Junior High Junction

 

Tagged: ,

9 thoughts on “Middle School Monday – slow and steady

  1. Jennifer Fraunfelder February 1, 2016 at 10:13 pm Reply

    Awesome post and reminder. We all need to slow down….homeschooling our children is not a race but a journey filled with wonderful achievements and memories.
    Feel free to link up with me over at
    http://publicschooldropouts.blogspot.com/p/our-curriculum-2015-2016.html

    • 3gigglygirlsathome February 2, 2016 at 8:03 am Reply

      Thank you. I’ll go check out the linkup. Thanks for sharing.

  2. rodandmegs February 2, 2016 at 5:54 am Reply

    Yes, this! Thanks for the reminder. Too often we get caught up wanting to do EVERYthing that we miss the important things.

    Thanks for linking up, Lori!

  3. Barbie February 4, 2016 at 9:16 am Reply

    This is such great advice for me right now, in several areas.

  4. Mother of 3 February 4, 2016 at 5:59 pm Reply

    Very true! It’s so hard to keep that slow and steady peace of mind.

  5. Annette Tinholt Vellenga February 4, 2016 at 10:32 pm Reply

    I am going to use this with my lad when he worries that we don’t make it through our list. That slow and steady is a good thing. When he learns something quickly.. YEAH… but when it takes longer.. that’s really no never mind. He’ll get there. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome February 5, 2016 at 8:02 pm Reply

      He will get there. It is so hard when you want to get there faster. But sometimes, faster causes us more problems. Hope he is able to appreciate his progress and be proud of his accomplishments, even when it takes a bit for it to come.

Leave a Reply

