Jesus Loves Me – hymn

Jesus Loves Me

I can’t believe I haven’t shared this one. Not because I think you all don’t know it but because it is a favorite of children everywhere. It is simple but tells us the greatest truth we need to know – Jesus Loves Me. And the way we know it is simple – He tells us in the Bible that He loves us, He gave his life upon the cross for us, and He rose again to give us eternal life with Him in heaven if we will just choose to follow the word He gave us.

We teach our children the steps of salvation. Hear, Believe, Repent, Confess, Be Baptized, and Live for Him. I pray that our children, and others everywhere, will choose to follow Christ and do what he tells us to in His word. On this day, the one where so much of the world recognized His resurrections, I implore you to study His word, learn what He desires of us, and follow Him – be baptized for the remission of your sins and live for Him. I can’t wait to meet all of my brothers and sisters in Christ once this world is done.

I cannot tell you how much this means to me. But I can share a story. The other night, Miss J was praying. She prayed for her family and friends and her church family. After the prayer, she said “I made a mistake. I don’t need to pray for my friends and my church family. They are all family because they love Jesus.” That made my heart sing and cry at the same time. Because not everyone she has as a friend has been baptized (for the record, neither has she as she is 7 years old, still innocent, and doesn’t understand all of the implications of baptism yet. But she knows she wants to be when she is a bit older and she wants everyone she knows to be baptized as well.) We talked about this and it was definitely hard for a 7 year old to understand. But, this illustrates the beauty of God’s love – we don’t have to understand it. We just have to accept it and try to show it to others. God loves us. He loves everyone and He wants everyone to be saved. He tells us this in his word. And please know, Jesus Loves You!

At Home.

 

Jesus Loves Me
words: Anna B Warner (1860)
music: William B Bradbury (1862)

(These are the verses in the hymn book we use – Songs of Faith and Praise #1014)

v.1 – Jesus loves me! This I know.
For the Bible tells me so.
Little ones to Him belong.
They are weak but He is strong. refrain

refrain –
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
The Bible tells me so.

v. 2 –
Jesus loves me! He who died,
Heaven’s gates to open.
He will wash away my sin.
Let His little child come in. refrain

v. 3 –
Jesus, take this heart of mine.
Make it pure and wholly Thine.
On the cross You died for me.
I will try to live for Thee. refrain

 

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

