A Soul Winner for Jesus – hymn

A Soul Winner for Jesus

This one? I didn’t know it until we sang it a worship the other evening. I loved it! The reminder of our purpose and WHY it is our purpose is lovely. Add to it that I have learned a lot about the lyricist and this may just be one of my new favorites. I wish I had a link to an a cappella version of the song because it was such a touching one to sing the other night. I didn’t find one, though. So, words it will be.

Just a quick bit of background, though. I know – somewhat unusual for me.

J.W. Ferrill is a central Texan. He was born, raised, and work for the majority of his adult life in an area that our family is very familiar with. I find that a fun fact that brings this a bit closer to home, you know? You can read more about his life at Hymnary.org and on an older blog post on a blog titled hymnstudies.org.

The lyrics now – they are touching. They are heartfelt statements of what I hope to be. Ponder the words and see if they don’t touch your heart and make you want to be “A Soul Winner for Jesus.”

At Home.

 

A Soul Winner for Jesus

words and music: J.W. Ferrill (1907)
1 I want to be a soul winner
For Jesus ev’ry day;
He does so much for me;
I want to aid the lost sinner
To leave his erring way,
And be from bondage free.

Refrain:
A soul winner for Jesus,
A soul winner for Jesus,
O let me be each day;
A soul winner for Jesus,
A soul winner for Jesus,
He’s done so much for me.

2 I want to be a soul winner
And bring the lost to Christ,
That they His grace may know;
I want to live for Christ ever,
And do His blessed will,
Because He loves me so. [Refrain]

3 I want to be a soul winner
Till Jesus calls for me,
To lay my burdens down,
I want to hear Him say, Servant,
“You’ve gathered many sheaves,
Receive a starry crown.” [Refrain]

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

