My Hope is Built on Nothing Less – hymn

My Hope Is Built On Nothing Less
There are many things that are beautiful about this hymn. But I think my favorite is the security with which the words are stated. There is no hesitation or debating or weariness within the words. “Wholly lean on Jesus’ name.” Fact. What is stated, is.
Sometimes I wonder why things don’t bother me as much as they do others. “I rest on His unchanging grace.” Is that it? Is my God holding me up through things and allowing me to feel his grace and hope and love and security. There have been plenty of times when I should worry, according to the world. Even according to other Christians. But I don’t.
What about when something is bothering me?  What about when I am in “the darkness” or “the whelming flood“? I go to Christ. To the Solid Rock. And I put it in His hands.
There has been an issue on my mind for the last week or so. And I talked to several folks about it. Looking back on it now, I wish someone had just reminded me that God had it, that His grace was covering the issue, and that I just needed to allow Him to be “my hope and stay.” I am pretty sad that I dealt with the issue for so long before I realized I was looking to the wrong place and the wrong people to reassure me that everything was going to be alright. I should have looked to God. Live and learn, right? I sure hope so.
That was a good reminder, though. This song is spot on. And I have pondered on it this afternoon while writing this. I realize that I have missed my mark this last week. I am asking God for his forgiveness when I was allowing worry to take over my life instead of trusting it to Him. And, I am moving back into Jesus’ blood and righteousness so that I can stand on the Solid Rock.
At Home.

My Hope Is Built On Nothing Less

Words:  Edward Mote (1834)
Music:   William B. Bradbury (1834)

 

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name. Chorus

Chorus:
On Christ, the Solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In ev’ry high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil. Chorus

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood;
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay. Chorus

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
O may I then in Him be found,
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne. Chorus

 

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

