This Is My Father’s World – hymn

This is My Father's World

(Writing this Saturday morning)

As we watched the opening ceremonies for the Olympics last night (we got cable just so we can watch and learn from the Olympics – so many opportunities), we saw so much that it seems many people missed. This morning on social media, I see people complaining about the low quality of the program. Others saying it was unintelligible. Some people saying it was grotesque and “what do you expect when you allow a 3rd world country to host the Olympics?” I wish these negative comment makers could have been in our living room.

“Look at that girl. She is smiling so big!”

“Did you hear that? His whole family was killed but he still worked hard!”

“What is a refugee?” After the answer: “And they still are competing? Without a country to call their own? Wow!”

“They worked so hard to get here!”

“What a beautiful costume!”

And when the commentators made an unkind remark about one country’s outfits “Well, that wasn’t nice. I like their jackets!”

Why do we, as a people, tend to focus on the negative? Why can’t we enjoy the work someone has put into a production and get some joy from it? What we saw was full of joy and hope. It was about the coming together to celebrate the world we live in. There was no competition on that stadium floor last night yet that is all it seems many people saw.

I wish they had seen the pictures of the athletes from different countries celebrating together. I wish they had seen the images of a beautiful country that, while it didn’t fix everything that we in America think maybe they should have, did its best to provide a place for the athletes to compete and celebrate hard work. I wish the naysayers had seen the beautiful ocean, the stunning rainforests, the colorful costumes, and happy people. I wish they had noticed the athletes mingling, laughing together and taking pictures together, hugging and shaking hands with smiles on their faces. I wish they had seen that This Is My Father’s World. It isn’t about the production. Rather, it is about the coming together.

Why should my heart be sad?
The Lord is King: let the heavens ring!
God reigns; let earth be glad!

At Home.

 

This Is My Father’s World

words: Maltbie D. Babcock (1901)
music: Franklin L. Sheppard (1915)

1 This is my Father’s world,
And to my listening ears
All nature sings, and round me rings
The music of the spheres.
This is my Father’s world:
I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas–
His hand the wonders wrought.

2 This is my Father’s world:
The birds their carols raise,
The morning light, the lily white,
Declare their Maker’s praise.
This is my Father’s world:
He shines in all that’s fair;
In the rustling grass I hear Him pass,
He speaks to me everywhere.

3 This is my Father’s world:
O let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong,
God is the Ruler yet.
This is my Father’s world:
Why should my heart be sad?
The Lord is King: let the heavens ring!
God reigns; let earth be glad!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “This Is My Father’s World – hymn

  1. Kym Thorpe August 9, 2016 at 6:37 pm Reply

    Indeed. While we were disappointed in some aspects of the broadcast, some of the snippets of conversation from your living room summarizes why my daughter and I love watching the opening ceremonies. My favorite part is always the parade of nations. I want to see the faces of all those athletes that have worked so hard to get there, the pride they have in representing a country they love, and the obstacles they’ve overcome to get there. I especially loved that the athletes were allowed to mingle once they had entered the stadium!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 10, 2016 at 7:49 am Reply

      I am so glad to hear there are others out there who love and appreciate so much more than the “show.” Thanks for the reply, Kym.

Leave a Reply

