Needle Work Learning

Do you teach needle work in your home? Miss E got some projects a while back but had not been interested in learning how to do the cross-stitching. Well, Sunday afternoon she decided that it was time to learn. So, we sat out on the front porch for the semi-rainy afternoon, enjoying the rain and relief from the heat that we normally expect in August, and I taught her how to cross-stitch.

Now, overall, it is not difficult. Time consuming, yes. But not difficult. So, after a few basic instructions, she was off. She did have to stop and ask a few questions over time but she has diligently worked on her picture for three days now. Yesterday and today, after finishing her schoolwork, she has headed off to get her audiobook and needle work and then settled down somewhere comfortable to stitch. She is enjoying it. I will keep you updated on her work. Here is Sunday afternoon:Cross stitch start

And this is where she is today:

cross stitch 2

Progress is slow but steady on something like this and you learn amazing coping and “make do” skills. Let’s be honest: every piece is going to have a mistake if you are anything like me because counting these little squares is hard!

Now, let’s see if I can make as much progress on the cross-stitch project I am working on. Never mind that I should have had it done before Miss J was born 7 1/2 years ago.

If you teach needle arts, I would love to know what you teach and how you do it. So far, we just teach as they show interest and that often arises from need or desire.

At Home.

 

This is technically a Middle School Monday post but since I was publishing a review yesterday, I thought I would save this one for today. 🙂

 

 

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Needle Work Learning

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga August 26, 2016 at 2:16 pm Reply

    It’s coming along isn’t it? I did needlework as a child and young adult, lately… I blog. 🙂 Different creative talents eh?

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 26, 2016 at 2:55 pm Reply

      Absolutely. I try to work in more sewing and needle work and photo stuff but, somehow, I don’t manage to fit it all in. I am trying to be okay with that.

Leave a Reply

