Listen – Five Minute Friday

This week’s Five Minute Friday post is on the word  . . . LISTEN. I am posting on Saturday because we were too busy with family requirements yesterday to do any writing.

GO!

listen

Listen. Are you? What does it mean? How do you listen?

The obvious answer is with our ears but really it is more than that.

We have to listen with our hearts and our minds. Listen doesn’t mean to hear the words. It means you have to understand the meaning behind the words. What is in the speaker’s heart and in their experiences. If we don’t give those things credence, then we do not listen to the person.

This is so obvious when we see what is going on with our families. How often do I as a parent begin to formulate my response to a child’s cry before I hear it out? How often do I make up my mind before I have discussed with a child what went wrong in a sibling fight? How often do I jump to conclusions?

I need to listen. I need to stop and slow down. I need to understand.

God does this for us, his children. He listens. In fact, he waits for us to talk before he even begins formulating his plan. Because he is LOVE. So to listen is caught up with love. God is love and he listens to us. All we have to do is come to him in prayer. Prayer is out way to talk to God and he loves us. He listens to us. And then he answers us in His word. And we have to listen to Him.

You know that verse that says “Listen to Him.” God is talking about listening to his son. Listen to Jesus. He talks to us through his word. Listen to Him.

Listening will help you find your way. Listen to God.

END.

At Home.

5 thoughts on “Listen – Five Minute Friday

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga September 17, 2016 at 3:48 pm Reply

    Well done Lori, we do indeed need to listen instead of thinking ahead

  2. nabiyagi September 18, 2016 at 2:56 am Reply

    “To listen is caught up with love” touched something in me. Thx for sharing your thoughts!

  3. Lisa McClanahan September 18, 2016 at 6:14 pm Reply

    I am working on slowing my life down. I have eliminated some things in my life that are not necessary so I can listen more among other things.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome September 18, 2016 at 10:01 pm Reply

      I probably need to eliminate some unnecessary time-wasters in my life, as well. Slowing down is good.

Leave a Reply

