Collect – Five Minute Friday

collect

Today’s Five Minute Friday word is collect. You can find the link up on the blog Heading Home.

START

When I first heard the word for today was collect, I thought of collecting things. Mugs – like my mom. Stamps – like I did when I was a kid and my great-grandma did. Books – like we do now. Curriculum – like any good homeschooling family.

But then it hit me – collect. As in making payment for.

You know, I remember distinctly the when I was in high school and went to Sun Spot, NM, for a tour of the solar observatory. I was driving up by myself and was supposed to find a phone to call my mom when I got there. I probably was going to have to call collect. That’s what you pretty much had to do where I grew up because cell phones didn’t exist and public pay telephones didn’t either. So you borrowed a phone and called, most often collect. (To finish the story – I forgot to call and my frantic mother had to call Sun Spot and they had to track me down. I had met up with the people I was supposed to and we were going merrily on our way through the tour. Needless to say, I never forgot to call again!)

But, back to collect

When you called someone collect, the operator asked them if they would accept the charges. They could decline but most of the time, the person knew you and was willing to accept the phone charges for your phone call to them. Not them calling you. You were the one needing something but they took responsibility for the cost of your need.

Make me think of Christ. He took my collect phone call, long before I ever even knew I needed to make that call, and paid my charges. For me, it was death. Romans 3:23 says “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Romans 6:23 says “the wages of sin is death.” Put those together and I needed someone badly to accept my collect call. Jesus did that. 2,000 years ago. He paid my charges by dying on the cross for me.

Boy am I blessed to be a child of God! He paid my collect call fees. Without a question.

I’m pretty blessed to have my mom, who followed up on her wayward child, too!

STOP.

Are you writing on collect today? Don’t forget to link up.

At Home.

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Collect – Five Minute Friday

  1. Leigh September 30, 2016 at 7:36 pm Reply

    Nice! I actually thought of collect calls briefly, but decided to go in a different direction with this week’s prompt. Blessings and peace to you! Stopping by from FMF.

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga September 30, 2016 at 7:59 pm Reply

    Lori, I love how you put that all together. So well written and to the point, God took my collect call. So long ago, before I ever knew the need. I like it.

  3. Lisa McClanahan September 30, 2016 at 10:38 pm Reply

    Great way to explain our needing to reach out to Him.

  4. Kemi October 1, 2016 at 1:42 am Reply

    Love it! Yes I called collect in college. I don’t know where I would be if He hadn’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

