Test – Five Minute Friday

test

Today’s word is TEST. Be sure to visit others on the link-up over on Kate’s blog Heading Home.

START:

Test generally has a bit of a connotation of fear for me. I do not like tests because they make me feel like I am less than my best. Not because I don’t do well on them but because I THINK I will not do well on them. They bring out my self-doubt.

I have been studying the book of Job with my Bible Bowl students. Crazy as that seems, they have an amazing grasp on the whole concept of Job. And that concept is: even through the TESTS that we experience in life, God is in control and we should trust him. Everything turns out all right in the end.

Really, though – 2nd and 4th graders are getting that so easily yet I wonder why I struggle with it so. I wish I had the confidence of these little ones to just get something. Not having to analyze and struggle with and over think. It just is. And in that, God is.

Tests are really not meant to throw us for a loop. That’s one reason that a test is just another piece of paper or another lesson on the computer for the giggly girls in our home education journey. We don’t put emphasis on them because the whole purpose of a test is to show us where our weaknesses lie so we can improve upon them.

That was even the test that Job went through. Satan was sure he could show Job’s weakness so he tested his mettle, so to speak. God knew better and while Job struggled (maybe because his wife and friends we so little comfort and support, thought they claimed that was why they came to him), he did not falter and he did not expose any weakness.

My prayer this morning: God please make me like Job. I’d prefer to not have to go through the TEST that Job did but I do want to have his absolute assurance that no matter what is happening, God’s hand is in it and guiding it and providing for those who love him. No doubts no matter the TEST.

END.

Feel free to write and share, either in the comments (yes, you can write more than a sentence or two in the comments or email it to me and I’ll share it here on my blog) or write your own blog post and share the link so I can read it. Just take up the word, set a timer or watch a clock, and write on the word for five minutes. Really, it is very freeing and enjoyable.

Thanks for reading today. May you feel God’s peace and guidance through whatever test you may be experiencing.

At Home.

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Test – Five Minute Friday

  1. TaMara @ Tales of a Pee Dee Mama October 7, 2016 at 9:10 pm Reply

    We just did a study of Job in my ladies’ Sunday School class last week. What an incredible example of how we are to have faith in the midst of the tests and trials that we encounter in life!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 8, 2016 at 12:08 pm Reply

      Job is definitely a source of inspiration if we choose to look closely.

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga October 7, 2016 at 9:48 pm Reply

    Good post Lori…I like how you out tests show where out weaknesses lie which showed up for Job too

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 8, 2016 at 12:08 pm Reply

      Thanks, Annette. Job is very intriguing to me because of his responses.

Leave a Reply

