A Giggly Girl Favorite – Banana Bread

My giggly girls LOVE banana bread. I mean, you would think I had hung the moon today when I threw it together. Took me about 5 minutes to whip up the batter and then it cooks for an hour. And I have gotten tons of love out of it from two of my giggly girls. So, if you are looking for love, it is evidently found – in part – with banana bread.
banana-bread

Banana Bread (from my mom)

1 C sugar
1/2 C shortening/butter/margarine
2 C flour
2 eggs (have successfully subbed in applesauce and baking powder for these)
1 tsp baking soda
1 T milk
3 very ripe bananas, mashed (I often use 2 since that is what we have getting over-ripe)

Throw everything together in a bowl and mix it up good. I often don’t even bother mashing the bananas; they mix up well if you are using an electric mixer. Pour into a loaf pan that is lightly greased on the bottom and corners but not the sides. (You want it to kind of cling to the sides as it rises while baking so you have a taller loaf. It tends to collapse on itself a bit if you grease the sides.) Bake at 350°F for an hour. If you are at higher altitude or have a cooler oven, it might take an hour and a half but check it at an hour so it doesn’t burn.

Then cut and enjoy. The giggly girls – and At Home Dad – couldn’t wait until breakfast so we had to cut it tonight.

At Home.

Tagged:

6 thoughts on “A Giggly Girl Favorite – Banana Bread

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga October 13, 2016 at 11:10 pm Reply

    banana bread is a favourite in our house too… will have to add this one to my repertoire.

  2. Kym Thorpe October 14, 2016 at 8:43 am Reply

    Looks like a yummy recipe – my kids all love banana bread too!

  3. Lisa McClanahan October 19, 2016 at 4:03 pm Reply

    My family love banana bread, but lately we have been using zucchini and apples because we have so many.

  4. Cassandra Holdeman October 21, 2016 at 9:06 pm Reply

    I am sure my family would love this if I made it.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 22, 2016 at 7:24 pm Reply

      Well, I don’t know them but I also don’t know many people who don’t love banana bread.

Leave a Reply

