Mail – Five Minute Friday

Today’s Five Minute Friday topic – Mail. Just writing for five minutes, free flow, no editing. (Well, I can’t help editing mistyped words. Sorry – just happens.) And linking up at the Five Minute Friday post over on Heading Home.

mail

START –

Mail. My girls love to go get the mail. We live in one of those places that have the very impersonal mail service. Remember my Dear Postal Worker post a while back? Yes. I don’t even know our postal worker’s name. Partly because I seldom see her and partly because the person seems to change all the time. I guess it is hard to keep someone in that job.

Our mailbox is down the road a bit. You know – one of those big grey boxes with lots of little locked doors on it. Very impersonal. Very, well, sad. Because I grew up knowing our mailman and finding joy in talking with him. We knew exactly when he was coming and I can remember racing up our long driveway to say “hi” to him. Even now, having been away from home for 20 something years, I know the name of my parent’s mailman.

Kind of makes me sad that we don’t have a clue if our mailperson is a man or a woman.

The girls still love to go get the mail. Part of it is independence. Part of it is seeing if anyone felt they were important enough to write to. The girls write to their friends that have moved, past teachers from public school and church, and family. They love it when mail comes with their name on it. They feel loved.

Don’t we all feel loved when we get a handwritten letter with our name on it?

So, I’m challenging everyone reading this – grab a card or a piece of paper and handwrite a short note to someone. Make them feel special. Let them know they are appreciated. Or loved. Or missed. Just let them know you are thinking about them.

Your moment will make a difference.

END.

At Home.

 

Tagged: ,

10 thoughts on “Mail – Five Minute Friday

  1. Beautiful, Camouflaged Mess October 14, 2016 at 5:13 pm Reply

    I know my son LOVES checking the mail!! And, he loves when he gets mail with his name on it – at four, he’s asking, “is this your mail, or dad’s mail, or my mail?” Thinking we will send a couple cards this next week.

    Great thoughts!

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga October 14, 2016 at 5:33 pm Reply

    ah, what a great call to action there. 🙂 need to send a letter. 🙂

  3. bevbaird October 14, 2016 at 5:47 pm Reply

    We are lucky to still have a mailperson deliver the mail to our house. If Canada Post has their way tho – we will have those boxes, a distance from the house. Ugh. Lovely post.
    Thanks too for stopping by.

  4. Tess October 14, 2016 at 7:42 pm Reply

    Our mailbox is also down the road a bit. One of those gray boxes with locks. My girls used to love go getting the mail. Now we just wait until Daddy comes home with it.

  5. TaMara Sloan October 15, 2016 at 8:05 am Reply

    My girls love to check the mail. I definitely need to start sending some cards and letters each week.

  6. Barbie October 16, 2016 at 10:49 am Reply

    A handwritten letter showing up in our mail box is a rarity. I am trying to be better at writing letters. It’s too easy to go to email. Have a blessed week.

  7. Lisa McClanahan October 17, 2016 at 11:28 am Reply

    I often think of writing a letter, but most of the time I just send an email or pm on facebook. I need to start taking the time to send real notes and cards.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome October 17, 2016 at 11:43 am Reply

      I do the same so much of the time. Easier but not necessarily as personal, right?

Leave a Reply

