Take My Life, and Let It Be – hymn

take-my-life-and-let-it-be

There is something about hymns that turn into melody the commitment we make to our Lord that just stirs my thoughts. This particular hymn definitely is one of those. I don’t sing the words lightly. I think about them. I ask myself if I am truly saying these things to God or if I am just singing the words on a page without thinking.

That is truly one of the dangers of songs that I am very familiar with. I don’t always concentrate on the words coming out of my mouth. It is so easy to say the words and not have any comprehension of the meaning.

But I want to give my life to my God. I want Him to be in charge of the ways of my life. I want to spend my life for Him. This song put those thoughts very clearly into focus. “Take myself and I will be, Ever, only, all for Thee!”

At Home.

 

Take My Life, and Let It Be

words: Frances R Havergal (1874)
music: arr. Wolfgang A. Mozart, Twelfth Mass (1821)

1 Take my life, and let it be
Consecrated, Lord, to Thee;
Take my moments and my days,
Let them flow in ceaseless praise.

2 Take my hands, and let them move
At the impulse of Thy love;
Take my feet, and let them be
Swift and beautiful for Thee.

3 Take my voice and let me sing
Always, only, for my King;
Take my lips, and let them be
Filled with messages from Thee.

4 Take my silver and my gold:
Not a mite would I withhold;
Take my intellect and use
Ev’ry pow’r as Thou shalt choose.

5 Take my love, my Lord, I pour
At Thy feet its treasure store;
Take myself and I will be
Ever, only, all for Thee!

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Take My Life, and Let It Be – hymn

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga October 31, 2016 at 7:37 pm Reply

    This is a GREAT hymn Lori, it’s one of those heart plea hymns isn’t it. πŸ™‚

  2. Cassandra Holdeman November 10, 2016 at 2:40 pm Reply

    Love this hymn!

Leave a Reply

