Beautiful Isle of Somewhere – hymn

beautiful-isle-of-somewhere

Do you dream of heaven? Sometimes I sit and dwell on  just how wonderful it will be. The beauty of this is that if we strive to live the life that God commands us to in His Word, then one day we will know just how beautiful this place called heaven is. “Somewhere” in this song is heaven. These comments about heaven just encourage me to strive to follow God more closely.

Have I heard his Word? Romans 10:17
Have I believed, and continue to believe, in Him? Mark 16:16
Have I repented of my sin, as all man is sinful? Romans 3:23, Acts 2:38
Have I confessed my sin? Romans 10:9-10
Have I been baptized and added by God to His church? Acts 2:38, 47

I can’t wait to see that “Beautiful Isle of Somewhere” once my transient life on this earth is finished and God brings me to the home he has prepared for me.

At Home.

 

If you would like to hear this song, please visit Great Songs Chapel.

 

Beautiful Isle of Somewhere

words: Jessie Brown Pounds (1897)
music: J.S. Fearis

1 Somewhere the sun is shining,
Somewhere the songbirds dwell;
Hush, then, thy sad repining,
God lives, and all is well.

Refrain:
Somewhere, somewhere,
Beautiful Isle of Somewhere!
Land of the true, where we live anew,
Beautiful Isle of Somewhere!

2 Somewhere the day is longer,
Somewhere the task is done;
Somewhere the heart is stronger,
Somewhere the guerdon won. [Refrain]

3 Somewhere the load is lifted,
Close by an open gate;
Somewhere the clouds are rifted,
Somewhere the angels wait. [Refrain]

Tagged:

One thought on “Beautiful Isle of Somewhere – hymn

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga November 7, 2016 at 12:36 am Reply

    This hymn is a totally new one to me. I have to admit, I don’t see heaven as an isle… I see a big floating city coming down on a new earth. It will be so beautiful though… it will be GOOD.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

