Enjoy – Five Minute Friday

Today’s Five Minute Friday word is enjoy. This is a five minute free-write, no editing. Just flowing thoughts. Hosted by Kate on Heading Home, write away and then link up.

enjoy

START –

Enjoy.

Slow down.

Take Time.

Look around.

See what’s there.

Smell the breeze.

See the sun.

Feel free.

Sometimes I find myself getting lost in the every day, day-to-day, run-of-the-mill, constant go go go. While I treasure every minute I get to spend with my girls and my husband, I find myself not appreciating it. Not enjoying it. Because I have allowed myself to get lost.

So how do I find myself? How do I enjoy it all again?

Refresh. Look around. Take time. Allow myself to not do it all. Constantly reminding myself that it doesn’t all HAVE to get done. And when I do that, I enjoy life again.

Enjoyment comes not from everything being right but in being content with what everything is. Contentment goes hand in hand with the word enjoy. If you are not content, you will never enjoy anything. God teaches us about contentment through the apostle Paul. Phillipians 4:11-13 is a verse that I memorized years ago and return to again and again.

enjoy-phil-4-11_13

Contentment is a learned ability. Yes it comes easier to some than to others, perhaps. But all can learn it. If that weren’t true, God would not have given us this direction.

Contentment = the ability to enjoy. So seek God. Seek His wisdom through His word and prayer. Through those who love Him and want to talk with you about Him. Enjoy God and the wisdom He offers. In that enjoyment, you will also find an enjoyment of life. God is good. Enjoy.

END.

Thanks for joining us today.

At Home.

Tagged:

10 thoughts on “Enjoy – Five Minute Friday

  1. Rebecca November 18, 2016 at 10:03 am Reply

    Such a great reminder. I do try to be content and enjoy life.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 18, 2016 at 11:57 am Reply

      And sometimes it takes baby steps. But as long as we are trying, right? Moving in the right direction.

  2. Lesley November 18, 2016 at 10:19 am Reply

    I agree, sometimes we need to slow down and take time to enjoy things, and when we focus on the good things we have, contentment will follow. Visiting from FMF.

  3. Mandy Hughes November 18, 2016 at 10:54 am Reply

    This is awesome: “Enjoyment comes not from everything being right but in being content with what everything is.” I struggle with putting down my list. It’s hard for me to grasp some items can wait till tomorrow. It doesn’t all have to be right. I need to stop and rest in God’s grace. Great post, Lori! Thanks so much for sharing!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 18, 2016 at 11:58 am Reply

      Thanks for the kind words. Love it when the free-flow of thought actually produces something that resonates with someone. Thank you for visiting.

  4. Annette Tinholt Vellenga November 18, 2016 at 12:50 pm Reply

    Contentment… Comes easier to some than others. But all can learn it. So true that a good reminder for me for today

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 18, 2016 at 4:36 pm Reply

      Glad there was something that spoke to you. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Lisa McClanahan November 18, 2016 at 4:52 pm Reply

    I think everyone can struggle with contentment. I am content with the things I have, but I am not always content with not getting everything done. Then I don’t enjoy the time with my family.

Leave a Reply

