I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say – hymn

i-heard-the-voice-of-jesus-say

Do you love to listen to the voice of Jesus? Do you listen to Him? Do you allow his voice to refresh you? To heal you? To strengthen you? Do you listen to him so that He can make you glad?

God gives us the command in the Bible to listen to Jesus –

Matthew 17:5  He was still speaking when, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” 

Thinking today of how and when I listen to Jesus, I found that I don’t listen often enough. I need to dedicate more of my time to listening. How do I do this?

Study.

Read.

Pray.

Spend time with others who believe in God and His risen Son, Jesus Christ.

I also spent time with the hymn I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say. I need to make sure I am actually hearing that voice and not listening to the world, which strives so hard to drown Jesus’ voice out completely. Because Jesus tells us He can give us the water that will give life. Jesus gives us light and life and strength.

This also brought me to pull out the Acapella song Listen to Him. It plays through my head often, giving me that reminder that I need to listen to Jesus, seeking Him out so that I will be guided right.

At Home.

I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say

words: Horatius Bonar (1846)
music: Ludwig Spohr (1834)

1 I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“Come unto Me and rest;
Lay down, thou weary one, lay down
Thy head upon my breast.”
I came to Jesus as I was,
Weary and worn and sad;
I found in Him a resting place,
And He has made me glad.

2 I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“Behold, I freely give
Thy living water: thirsty one,
Stoop down, and drink, and live.”
I came to Jesus and I drank
Of that life-giving stream;
My thirst was quenched, my soul revived,
And now I live with Him.

3 I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“I am this dark world’s light;
Look unto Me, thy morn shall rise,
And all thy day be bright!”
I looked to Jesus and I found
In Him my Star, my Sun;
And in that light of life I’ll walk
Till trav’ling days are done.

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say – hymn

  1. Kym Thorpe November 21, 2016 at 10:10 am Reply

    This is one of those beautiful old hymns we don’t often hear any more. Love your thoughts about listening well!

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga November 21, 2016 at 2:09 pm Reply

    This is a lovely Hymn Lori. Thanks for sharing it. I missed church yesterday so haven’t done up a hymn for this week.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 21, 2016 at 10:18 pm Reply

      Thank you. I hope you were able to get some rest. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what hymn you choose when you feel up to it.

  3. Carol Emmert November 21, 2016 at 2:58 pm Reply

    I used to have “Listen to Him” on cassette tape! Does that make me officially old? LOL! I loved that song. Thanks for the reminder to listen only and always to God’s voice! Maybe Kurt has it somewhere I can pull it out and listen again. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 21, 2016 at 10:15 pm Reply

      If you having had it on cassette makes you old, I must be a fossil because I STILL have it on tape. 🙂 Of course, my husband did order me the CD a few years ago so I do have that also.

  4. Stacie Lewin December 4, 2016 at 2:32 pm Reply

    This song is actually really pretty. It’s the first time I have actually listened to this. This post came at a good time as were talking about listening to Jesus more. I too need to do more listening. I feel so distracted lately.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 5, 2016 at 12:32 pm Reply

      Thank you. So thankful God touched you with it. Listening to can be difficult. Praying you can lose the distraction and be able to focus on what you need.

Leave a Reply

