Surrender – FMF

Today’s word is surrender for Five Minute Friday, a five-minute free write with no editing. Hosted by Heading Home, Kate holds a link up for lots of folks each Friday for their free writes.
surrender-james-4_7
START –

Surrender generally holds a negative connotation. People think that surrendering is a bad thing. That to surrender implies weakness. Surrendering means you are less than they are.

Really, though, surrendering means that you have deemed something else more important than yourself. And that, my friend, is a good thing. It shows compassion, empathy, or just plain old love, care, and concern. And why is that considered bad?

Surrendering to someone else’s will means that you hold them in high regard. It shows respect for their thoughts, opinions, and knowledge, for their wisdom and reach.

Surrender is something that I need to work on and show my children how to do better. We have been struggling lately with each of the girls attempting to show her might and strength over her sisters. And I have been struggling with how to teach them to surrender their wills to each other, just as God has asked us to surrender our will to His.

His will is better and so we should surrender to Him, to His plans, to His way, to His timing. It can be hard to do until you consider all that He surrendered to us – His Son surrendered to death on the cross for me. So why cannot I surrender my life to serve Him?

I can and I will. And God will help me.

END.

At Home.

 

 

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “Surrender – FMF

  1. rosebudmama November 25, 2016 at 8:41 pm Reply

    It is so important to remember that I have three children who are watching the way that I surrender to God, and how I walk humbly with God in my interactions with others, and especially my interactions with them. Thank you for this reminder I hope you have a lovely weekend.

  2. Janis Cox November 25, 2016 at 8:50 pm Reply

    Love this Lori. It’s great for the kids to see how you surrender your will. They will learn from that. I am working on it too.
    Blessings to you and I am following you on Twitter. Would love if you followed back.
    Janis

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 25, 2016 at 9:41 pm Reply

      Thank you. The girls definitely learn by example and what a challenge that is for me. Thank you for visiting me. (Followed you back. šŸ˜‰ )

  3. Annette Tinholt Vellenga November 25, 2016 at 10:24 pm Reply

    Oh… I like your take on this word surrender. I’m up #42 this week. Surrender is a hard one … it’s so easy to push for your own, or to give way with a poor attitude. Need to toss that attitude and show more cheerfulness in that surrender.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome November 26, 2016 at 8:59 am Reply

      The poor attitude is where I struggle most. But if we have a poor attitude is it really surrendering? I don’t think so. Something to think on.

Leave a Reply

