Crave – FMF

Today’s word prompt is crave and the link up is hosted over on Heading Home.

crave
Start –

Crave.

What an appropriate word for this time of year. From Halloween through the New Year, it seems like we have the kinds of foods sitting around that we crave. That would be the sweet stuff.

While not bad in itself, I have found that when I crave it, I am missing out on something more. Most of the time it is sleep, water, or joy. I wish I could say that I take that knowledge and make better choice because of it, but I don’t. I most often give into my cravings.

But what if I gave in through a new way? I have been trying this for the last week. Wish I could say it has helped tremendously but, well, we’ll see after a while longer.

What I have been doing is trying to be proactive. I have gotten up and gotten my hot tea and packed a lunch for At Home Dad. After he is gone, I sit down with my hot tea and my Bible and Bible study book. I read and study for about 30 minutes. Then I go walk on the treadmill. I have managed about 40 minutes most days so far (excepting the morning the girls decided to fight and I had to cut it short). After that I shower and we get started on school.

While I haven’t found that this has cut my cravings completely out, it makes me rethink my food choices because I don’t want to completely undo whatever good my exercise might have done for me. So, my cravings are still there but I am working on that. And the exercise and extra water have been good for me. I also find, the more I study God’s word, the more I crave it. So that is perhaps the best result of all of these cravings.

END.

What do you crave?

At Home.

Tagged:

10 thoughts on “Crave – FMF

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga December 2, 2016 at 12:46 pm Reply

    ooh… I like that. 🙂 I am regretting yet that sometimes in the morning my mind is not awake yet…so my devotions aren’t happening as consistently as I would like…but it’s getting better. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 2, 2016 at 6:44 pm Reply

      Not awake is hard to deal with. At Home Dad going to work in the morning has really helped me be awake for devotion time since I have to get his lunch ready to go first. Baby steps towards what you hope for. You’ll get there is you keep stepping forward.

  2. Carol Emmert December 2, 2016 at 1:49 pm Reply

    It is good to crave His Word! I too struggle to get away from the sweets and crave better food. I try really hard to keep a lot of fresh fruit and veggies around and ready to munch on instead.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 2, 2016 at 6:43 pm Reply

      Healthy munches are good. If only they would take care of those cravings!

  3. Lisa McClanahan December 2, 2016 at 11:40 pm Reply

    We all read our bibles in the morning maybe we need to start exercising then too. At least then it would get done and maybe we would make better eating choices too.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 3, 2016 at 2:14 pm Reply

      I missed my Bible time this morning because I was getting ready for teaching a Bible Bowl class. I’ve missed that time.

  4. Patricia December 5, 2016 at 8:58 am Reply

    Ah yes, intentionality. I’ve been trying to show much more discipline in shopping. If I don’t bring it into the house, I’m rarely apt to actually leave (especially now that it’s cold) to go out for the junk. But if it’s already in the pantry and calling my name? Ugh, that’s much harder.
    Peace for maintaining your routine.
    Your FMF next door neighbor,
    Patricia

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 5, 2016 at 12:30 pm Reply

      Thank you so much for dropping by, Patricia. And thanks for the encouragement.

  5. Meghan W from the Crew December 5, 2016 at 7:22 pm Reply

    I am craving my mornings again- Baby #4 has me getting every minute of sleep I can (although she sleeps good at night, i find myself plum worn out from day to day activities now) so i haven’t been getting up early for my Bible time. I need to get back to it! Thanks for sharing.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 5, 2016 at 9:28 pm Reply

      I understand that. It took me several years to get back to consistent, something would come up and I’d have to work back up to consistency again. Glad that Baby #4 is sleeping well at night; a definitely help!

Leave a Reply

