Need a Fun Book to Read?

last-of-the-really-great-whangdoodles

This one? Totally unexpected and out of left field but a home run. (Yea, yea – mixing metaphors or something there but this was a cool book!)

The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Andrews Edwards

I absolutely adore Julie Andrews. I have since I was a child and watched The Sound of Music every. single. year. Just ask my brother. He HATED it! But when I discovered her writing, I fell in love with her books, too. My girls love her books, as well. Pink, sparkly, princesses – what’s not to love?

Well, because of that adoration, I had to pick up this book at the book sale when I found it. I knew nothing about it but I had to pick it up and read it out loud to the girls. And it is fantastic!!!!!!

last-of-the-really-great-whangdoodles-quote-1

Synopsis:

Three siblings – Ben, Tom, and Lindy – meet the very unusual Professor Savant who becomes convinced that they are just the children who are capable of making the trip to the elusive Whangdoodleland. In order to make the trip and be able to meet the Whangdoodle, the children have to learn to see and understand things in a completely different way than they ever have before. Once they successfully make the trip, they meet amazing creatures and see unbelievable things. Can they find the perseverance and strength needed to meet the Whangdoodle? And what happens if they succeed?

last-of-the-really-great-whangdoodles-quote-2

Thoughts:

There is so many tidbits of wisdom tucked into sentences throughout this book. I couldn’t believe how much was packed into this fantastical, imaginative book about seeing things you cannot even imagine. From the way blood works in a body to how we listen to Latin words to the responsibilities we have of managing life, there are wise thoughts everywhere.

last-of-the-really-great-whangdoodles-quote-4

One of my favorite scenes was when the professor was teaching the children to look. No, not just look, but to really see, to observe. They were looking at chrysanthemums and the children dismissed them fairly simply but when they actually looked, they saw so much more – color and texture and life. It was really an interesting scene.

last-of-the-really-great-whangdoodles-quote-3

We loved the book and highly recommend it. Each day, all three girls were disappointed when I placed the bookmark. That is the sign of a very good book.

At Home.

 

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Need a Fun Book to Read?

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga December 5, 2016 at 6:50 pm Reply

    I wonder if the local library has this book. I am going to have to check

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 5, 2016 at 9:28 pm Reply

      I had never heard of it. Maybe you’ll be able to locate it.

  2. Kym Thorpe (@HSCoffeeBreak) December 5, 2016 at 9:49 pm Reply

    Well, I didn’t even know Julie Andrews had written books! This does sound like a fascinating read!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome December 5, 2016 at 10:08 pm Reply

      She is a jack-of-all-trades, I think. She did a great job with this one.

  3. Michelle December 6, 2016 at 4:00 pm Reply

    I love Julie Andrews! I didn’t know either! Thank you for sharing!

  4. Carol Emmert December 6, 2016 at 7:19 pm Reply

    We love Julie Andrews! I am going to look for the book to read myself if our girls think they’re too old for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

