I Want to Know Christ – hymn

i-want-to-know-christ
As I have been pondering all the ways that the word CRAVE could apply to my life, I keep coming back to this scripture song – Philippians 3:10. We teach this to the girls and try to encourage this kind of craving. Craving the word allows us to have an answer for the hope that is within us (I Peter 3:15) and I want to get better at that, to be more prepared. This song has had me thinking about the various parts of the Christian life that I need to be prepared to answer.

I want to know Christ and the power of his rising. Share in His suffering; conform to His death. When I pour out my life to be filled with His Spirit, joy follows suffering and life follows death. – Philippians 3:10

“I want to know Christ.” What do I want to know about Him? Everything. More about Jesus would I know, more of His love to others show… Sorry – I got sidetracked by another song, though it is one that directly impacts this question. I want to know more about Him in every way. I want to know HIM. When you know someone, you know what they need, what they want, what they desire, and how to serve them best.

…”and the power of His rising.” There is much power in His rising, isn’t there? With His rising, there is no hope. There is no overcoming of sin and death. We would forever be stuck here on this earth with no hope of heaven and eternity with him. His rising, overcoming sin and death, gives us freedom from bondage.

…”share in His suffering, conform to His death.” How do we do this? We die to self and serve Him. How do we serve Him? By keeping His commands. By loving others. By putting ourselves last, rather than first as the world so often tells us we should. (You know – the “make time for yourself so you can care better for others” or the “you deserve to” themes we see so often.)

“When I pour out my life to be filled with His Spirit…” We are called to be a living sacrifice; in this case, it is a drink sacrificed. We are being poured out, emptying ourself so that we can be filled with what is better.

…”joy follows suffering and life follows death.” We don’t have the promise of an easy or perfect or happy time here on this earth. In fact, God tells us in His word that we will endure suffering but to count it all joy. That joy comes when we are encouraged or strengthened but especially when we are given our eternal reward.

Do you CRAVE the Word of God?

At Home.

 

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “I Want to Know Christ – hymn

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga January 1, 2017 at 8:39 pm Reply

    oh, I like how you pulled this one together. I find that CRAVE the Lord if I haven’t spent enough time with him, and then as I spend more time… I crave more but don’t always choose to answer that craving…weird eh? Need to correct that and follow the craving.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 2, 2017 at 10:20 am Reply

      Thank you. And I agree – if I have neglected my time with Him, that craving becomes stronger and I need to listen and respond.

Leave a Reply

