The Joy of the Lord – hymn

the-joy-of-the-lord
Ok, this one is really not a hymn in the truest sense of the word but is rather more of a worship song. But, it directs our thoughts toward the attributes of God that are worth of praise. And since much of it comes from Nehemiah, it is worthy of some time thinking about what words are included.

The Joy of the Lord – What is the joy of the Lord? Where does it come from? Does it come from something we do? No. It comes FROM the Lord for us. It is not earned yet it will strengthen us.

He is my Shepherd – God guides, protects, strengthens, provides safety and shelter, and so much more for us as our Shepherd. That is something to praise!

I am not afraid – With such a wonderful protector and Shepherd, we have nothing to fear. (See Psalm 23 as well.)

He will uphold me all of my days – I don’t have to have the ability to hold myself up because God will strengthen and uphold me.

I am surrounded by mercy and grace – This is what we find in the Bible. Everywhere we see the protection of God’s mercy and the providence of His grace. He gives even to us, sinners, wanderers.

I will not waver, walking by faith – Many times we cannot see the path we are on and we have to rely on God to direct, uphold, and guide. That requires faith. With the witnesses of the Bible (see Hebrews 11), faith should be easily found. God was with them; He has promised to be with me.

He will deliver me safe – None of the proceeding promises are without requirement on my part but if I do what God requires of me (spelled out many places in the Bible), He will deliver me safe through this world. So I must follow His word and He will deliver me safe to eternity with Him.

What promises are seen in The Joy of the Lord. Twila Paris created such a beautiful song with this one. I do enjoy it and the verse that Miss L chose to put on our verse board comes from Nehemiah 8:10b “Do not grieve for the joy of the Lord is your strength.”

At Home.

 

The Joy of the Lord

words & music: Twila Paris (1991)

The joy of the Lord will be my strength
I will not falter, I will not faint
He is my Shepherd, I am not afraid
The joy of the Lord is my strength

The joy of the Lord
The joy of the Lord
The joy of the Lord is my strength

The joy of the Lord will be my strength
He will uphold me all of my days
I am surrounded by mercy and grace
And the joy of the Lord is my strength

The joy of the Lord will be my strength
I will not waver, walking by faith
He will be strong to deliver me safe
The joy of the Lord is my strength

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “The Joy of the Lord – hymn

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga January 8, 2017 at 9:14 pm Reply

    same chorus, different verses than what I expected. Good none the less. I like the Nehemiah passage. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 9, 2017 at 10:37 am Reply

      Thanks. The Nehemiah passage is what Miss L has chosen for current memory work.

Leave a Reply

