Goals for 2017

Sometimes, I find that I struggle with setting goals. I don’t want to fall short. I have found myself several times lately thinking something like “I won’t even try because I can’t do it.” This often happens when I see something that requires a lot of activity over an extended period of time.

I have found, though, that if I create a much smaller goal with a larger end point in mind, I don’t struggle as much. An example? Walk for 20-30 minutes per day. No distance required so for those days when I am hurting or exhausted, all I have to do is make the time. I don’t have to push super hard. But for those days when I am energetic and feeling good? Then I can do some running and go further and longer.

I have also found that if I write things down, I am more likely to hold myself accountable. If I tell someone I trust about a goal, they are also more likely to hold me accountable because, well, they can since they know. (Something about that knowing – if they don’t know, how can they help?!?) At Home Dad has changed his morning routine to help me meet my daily goal of walking. He did that because he knew about my goal and wanted to help me meet it.

So, with all that rambling in mind, I decided to show you my goals. I wrote them down on the printable that I had created and shared with you in my post on The End or The Beginning? Here are my 2017 Goals.goals-2017At Home.

Linking up with the Homeschool Review Crew’s discussion about goals in 2017.

Homeschool Review Crew Goals for the Year Ahead {Link Up}

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Goals for 2017

  1. cmjenniferm January 18, 2017 at 5:30 am Reply

    Writing them down helps me, too, but then I’m also disappointed when I don’t do everything on my list. Yesterday I started walking, and it was a beautiful morning. Today I’ve rewritten my list adding back everything to Wednesday’s column that wasn’t completed Tuesday. I need to be sure that time for walking is prioritized again. I hope your walking is enjoyable!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 18, 2017 at 12:33 pm Reply

      I tend to walk on the treadmill and use that time to read. I can’t say I enjoy the exercise but I know it is good for me and so I do better and better.

  2. Annette Tinholt Vellenga January 19, 2017 at 11:04 am Reply

    i like how you made them simple and attainable… and that you included “ask for help”. So easy to just do it yourself and sometimes feel bogged down. Asking for help… HELPS! 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 19, 2017 at 9:50 pm Reply

      Thanks. Short and attainable was part of the hope. And I am soooo bad about asking for help, even when I know I need it.

Leave a Reply

