I Will Sing the Wondrous Story – hymn

i-will-sing-the-wondrous-story

Our hymn this last week has been “I Will Sing The Wondrous Story.” It was beautiful to watch Miss E sign this song while the rest of the family sang. The beauty of signing becomes all the more beautiful when we are singing about our Lord.

The words of this hymn pull you right in, thinking about all the Jesus did for us. From being lost to  being hurt to being in the darkness, Jesus comes for us, heals us, helps us. So we should sing.

At Home.

I Will Sing The Wondrous Story

words: Francis H. Rowley (1886)
music: Peter P. Bilhorn (1886)

I will sing the wondrous story
Of the Christ Who died for me.
How He left His home in glory
For the cross of Calvary.

Refrain
Yes, I’ll sing the wondrous story
Of the Christ Who died for me,
Sing it with the saints in glory,
Gathered by the crystal sea.

I was lost, but Jesus found me,
Found the sheep that went astray,
Threw His loving arms around me,
Drew me back into His way.

Refrain

I was bruised, but Jesus healed me,
Faint was I from many a fall,
Sight was gone, and fears possessed me,
But He freed me from them all.

Refrain

Days of darkness still come o’er me,
Sorrow’s path I often tread,
But His presence still is with me;
By His guiding hand I’m led.

Refrain

He will keep me till the river
Rolls its waters at my feet;
Then He’ll bear me safely over,
Where the loved ones I shall meet.

Refrain

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “I Will Sing the Wondrous Story – hymn

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga January 23, 2017 at 7:34 pm Reply

    More verses here than what I am familiar with… good words!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 23, 2017 at 9:36 pm Reply

      Yes. We weren’t familiar with two of the verses either but they are very good ones.

Leave a Reply

