Control – FMF

control
Today’s five minute free-write is on the word CONTROL. Hosted by Kate over on Heading Home, just write for five minutes and see what comes out.

START –

I’ve pondered this word for a while.
Control – head honcho, King of the Hill, Big Wigs,

When we are kids, we dream of being adults because then we will be in control.

When we become adults, we find out that really, control as humans see it, is an illusion.

Control implies that we can change things, that we can affect the path something is on.

To some extent, we can. But in many, many ways, we are out of control.

I’ve pondered this a lot in the past few months as so many we know have lost loved ones – to illness, to cancer, to age, to dementia, to poor choices, to any number of things.

Where is control? Can we ever really have it?

I guess, no – I KNOW – God is the only one really in control. We can make movement, choices, plans. But God is the one who makes thing happen according to His will.

So, submission to His will is the only control I have. And that controls my eternity. Which controls my peace.

End.

At Home.

Tagged:

10 thoughts on “Control – FMF

  1. Gayl January 27, 2017 at 5:18 pm Reply

    My 20 yr. old was just bemoaning the fact that being an adult has too many responsibilities. Once we become adults we see things differently than when we were kids, and sometimes it’s hard to accept. I’m so thankful as you’ve reminded us that surrendering to God is the best thing we can do. God can use us in His plans to make big changes or small, whatever He has purposed. Blessings!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 28, 2017 at 4:20 pm Reply

      Thank you, Gayl. My thoughts kind of tied in with last week’s FMF post on being refined and how God makes those changes, big or small, as needed.

  2. Carol Emmert January 27, 2017 at 5:42 pm Reply

    Oh Dear Lori, you must have had the same inspiration I did on this one! We might have choices, but only God controls the Master plan!

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 28, 2017 at 4:19 pm Reply

      I know we had the same inspirer. 🙂 I enjoyed reading your post too, Carol. God’s control is what matters.

  3. Karrilee Aggett (@KarrileeA) January 27, 2017 at 8:25 pm Reply

    “Which controls my peace.” <– Yes and Amen to this! Great post!

  4. kelly @kellyblackwell January 28, 2017 at 1:29 am Reply

    You brought to mind Proverbs 16:9 to my heart – “We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.”
    Great post.
    Dropping by from FMF
    Hope you enjoy a blessed weekend!
    Kelly

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 28, 2017 at 4:18 pm Reply

      Thanks for dropping by! That Proverb is a very good one. Of course, I think I really like just about any scripture that helps me understand.

  5. cmjenniferm January 28, 2017 at 8:39 am Reply

    “And that controls my peace!” It’s so hard to give up control…but to remember I didn’t really have it to start with changes my perspective.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome January 28, 2017 at 4:18 pm Reply

      That change in perspective can make all the difference, can’t it?

Leave a Reply

