I Heard The Voice of Jesus Say – hymn

Do you listen? I mean really listen? Deeply? Carefully?

When you take the time to listen, what do you hear? Do you hear the cares of the world? Your next commitment? You children needing something? Social media calling? The telephone ringing with the umpteen-millionth robo-dialed call? Your job? Your home-based business?

What do you hear?

What if you heard the voice of your Lord and Savior? What would He be saying to you? It would be personal, you know. He loves you, knows you, wants you to focus on Him. So His words? They would be for you.

That is what this song is to me. This week, each day, we started our time with this song. “I heard the voice of Jesus say . . .”

He was calling me to focus on Him. To lay down with him and allow Him to release the stress felt, the illnesses, the single-mom week, the “weary, worn, and sad.” He was calling me to take His “living water.” He was calling me to drink of that water and each time I did “my thirst was quenched, my soul revived.” He was calling to me to remind me that He is the light when things seem dark and dim. If I look to Him who is calling, I find “my star, my sun.”

Do you hear Jesus calling?

At Home.

i-heard-the-voice-of-jesus

I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say

words: Horatius Bonar (1846)
music: John B. Dykes (1868)

1 I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“Come unto me and rest;
lay down, O weary one, lay down
your head upon my breast.”
I came to Jesus as I was,
so weary, worn, and sad;
I found him in a resting place,
and he has made me glad.

2 I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“Behold, I freely give
the living water, thirsty one,
stoop down and drink and live.”
I came to Jesus, and I drank
of that life-giving stream;
my thirst was quenched, my soul revived,
and now I live in him.

3 I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“I am this dark world’s light;
look unto me; your morn shall rise,
and all your day be bright.”
I looked to Jesus, and I found
in him my star, my sun;
and in that light of life I’ll walk
till traveling days are done.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

