Up From The Grave He Arose – hymn

Up From The Grave He Arose

This is the day that most of the world recognizes the resurrection of Jesus. That is wonderful. Without that resurrection, we would have no hope. We would still be living under the old covenant of animal sacrifices and the Old Testament law. As it is, because Jesus The Son chose to honor and obey the will of God The Father, we are able to live under a new covenant. Through Jesus’ death and resurrection, we are washed clean. Our sins are removed.

But today is more than Easter. It is Sunday. It is the first day of the week. It is the day of the week that God instructs us to remember Jesus’ sacrifice on. We see the institution of meeting together on Sundays in Acts 20:7 and Jesus’ instructed the disciples in Luke 22:14-20 on eating the feast as a remembrance of Him. We see in I Corinthians 11:23-26 that Paul reminds the church to partake of this remembrance weekly when they come together.

We remember Jesus’ resurrection today, certainly. But more important is that we do it each Sunday when we come together to pray and worship the Lord. This is the example we are given in the New Testament. We are truly blessed by Jesus’ rising from the grave.

“Up From The Grave He Arose” is a song that I well remember from my childhood. It is a very visual portrayal of Jesus conquering death, vanquishing the penalty of my sin and death’s hold on me. Jesus cannot be kept by death and in His rising He bought me. What a triumph!!! Would you like to hear it sung? Please visit Great Songs Chapel.

At Home.

 

Up From The Grave He Arose

words & music: Robert Lowry (1874)

1 Low in the grave he lay, Jesus my Savior,
waiting the coming day, Jesus my Lord!

Refrain:
Up from the grave he arose;
with a mighty triumph o’er his foes;
he arose a victor from the dark domain,
and he lives forever, with his saints to reign.
He arose! He arose! Hallelujah! Christ arose!

2 Vainly they watch his bed, Jesus my Savior,
vainly they seal the dead, Jesus my Lord! [Refrain]

3 Death cannot keep its prey, Jesus my Savior;
he tore the bars away, Jesus my Lord! [Refrain]

 

 

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Up From The Grave He Arose – hymn

  1. Annette V April 20, 2017 at 5:42 am Reply

    Lori, I saw this hymn and my heart just lifted as this song came pouring out of my mind (with all the parts). ah, but it’s a good one eh?

Leave a Reply

