SING – Five Minute Friday

SING

Today’s FMF word is SING. Five minutes writing. No editing. Hosted by Kate at Heading Home.
GO –

Sing.
Sing a song.
Sing out loud.
Sing out strong.
Sing of good things, not bad.
Sing of happy, not sad.

Sing.
Sing a song.
Make it simple to last your whole life long.
Don’t worry that its not good enough for anyone else to hear.
Just sing.
Sing a song.

This song is what I would begin my kindergarten music classes with at the beginning of every year. (Did you know I used to teach K-5 music? Loved the music part – singing with the kids, playing singing games, playing instruments, musicals, choir. All the fun stuff! Making music all day long was awesome!) I wanted them to learn to just have fun and make music.

I was missing my music teaching days earlier when this song came through my Facebook feed.

Dr. Brumfield was one of my instructors at UNT where I attended to get my Master’s degree and my national Kodaly certification. She is an amazing teacher, composer, researcher, and more. This song is just one example among many of her talents and abilities. And it certainly made me miss my choir students.

END.

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “SING – Five Minute Friday

  1. Annette V April 21, 2017 at 4:02 pm Reply

    oh the things we learn! You used to teach music? How neat! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 3gigglygirlsathome April 21, 2017 at 5:06 pm Reply

      Yes, I taught for a while and loved the kids and the music. The paperwork and the oversight by people who knew nothing about my area of expertise, not so much. But one day, I do hope to be able to teach music again, somewhere.

  2. Sarah Lowther Hensley April 21, 2017 at 5:19 pm Reply

    “Sing a Song” was running through my head today, too. It always makes me smile. And God’s blessings on all of our music and art teachers in our schools. These are so important for helping students become whole persons. Thanks for your post. -Sarah, stopping by from FMF

    • 3gigglygirlsathome April 21, 2017 at 5:48 pm Reply

      Yes, the arts are important; I very much agree. Thank you for stopping by.

  3. Alice Nine April 21, 2017 at 5:22 pm Reply

    Love your lines of verse. What fun –music with Kinders! And for you this week, may you awaken each morning with a song in your heart! Visiting from #51 at FMF.

  4. Tara L Ulrich April 21, 2017 at 7:41 pm Reply

    That’s neat that you teach music to kids. I’m visiting from FMF.

Leave a Reply

