Subtracting Negative Numbers

Negative Numbers resource

I struggle with understanding negative numbers. So, when Miss E could just not get it from the video on her current course, I went in search of things that could explain it. Because, you know, understanding the “why” of something is sometimes required to move forward. This was one she could just not take on faith.

So, in my search, we went through some of the norms that are shared: Khan Academy, YouTube, etc. While these were not bad, they just kind of assume that their explanation of “taking the debt away” is enough. It is not. I don’t even understand that outside of that one application.

Then I stumbled on MathIsFun.com. Now this site? It is bookmarked now. Their explanations and pictures were perfect. It made sense!!! You have no idea how impressive that is to me. Subtracting negative numbers is something I have always done because a teacher told me that two negatives make a positive but not because I understood why. Now, finally, I understand why. (I am telling you this because I am impressed. I do not get a thing by sharing about this site.)

Check out the site on adding and subtracting positive AND negative numbers. Very cool. Their explanation is simple, clear, and – best of all – applicable to lots of situations. And now both I and Miss E understand subtracting negative numbers. Now to get her to redo those practice questions on her math program. {sigh}

At Home.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Subtracting Negative Numbers

  1. Annette V June 4, 2017 at 9:47 pm Reply

    math is fun is a great site! we have used it alot over the past year.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome June 5, 2017 at 9:24 pm Reply

      Some of the ways in which they describe things are just so clear. I love it!

Leave a Reply

