In Gethsemane Alone ~ hymn

In Gethsemane Alone

In Gethsemane Alone – This is another hymn I remember from my childhood that just points me to the Lord. How much love He has for me, for you, for anyone willing to obey His word, all of His word. The words of this hymn just really highlight the depth of love that Jesus showed for each and every person on the earth, then – now – and in the future, when he was willing to give His life on the cross.

He knew what was coming – the cross and the awful crucifixion – when he went to pray in the garden. Do you remember the anguish of his words?

Matthew 26:39 “He went a little farther and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.

Jesus prayed this not once, not twice, but three times. But He accepted the plan and fulfilled what was needed for me. And for you. He died on the cross so that we can accept his matchless grace. He gave himself to atone for our sins.

What Love!

What Matchless Love!

At Home.

In Gethsemane Alone

words and music: Samuel E. Reed (1912)

1 Oh, what wondrous love I see,
Freely shown for you and me,
By the One Who did atone!
Just to show His matchless grace,
Jesus suffered for the race,
In Gethsemane, alone.

Refrain:
Oh, what love, matchless love,
Oh, what love for me was shown!
His forever I will be,
For the love He gave to me,
When He suffered all alone.

2 “Tarry here,” He told the three,
“Tarry here and watch for Me,”
But they heard no bitter moan;
For the three disciples slept
While my loving Savior wept
In Gethsemane, alone. [Refrain]

3 Long in anguish deep was He,
Weeping there for you and me,
For our sin to Him was known;
We should love Him evermore
For the anguish that He bore
In Gethsemane, alone. [Refrain]

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “In Gethsemane Alone ~ hymn

  1. Annette V August 1, 2017 at 10:47 pm Reply

    this one was new to me. thanks for sharing it. These words I needed to hear: Oh, what love, matchless love,
    Oh, what love for me was shown!
    His forever I will be,
    For the love He gave to me,
    When He suffered all alone.

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 2, 2017 at 8:47 am Reply

      🙂 We all need these words, though some days we need them more.

Leave a Reply

