Give Thanks – hymn

Give Thanks

Today, I am thankful.

I am thankful for the lunch bag left on the kitchen counter because it means my husband came home safely from work last night.

I am thankful for the pile of laundry in the hallway. It means my children returned safely from camp.

I am thankful for the grumpiness of getting up this morning because it reminds me of the fun times we had as a family last night.

I am thankful for the dirty dishes. It reminds me that we have plenty to eat.

I am thankful for the pile of stuff in the hallway to give away. It helps me to see that my children are growing and thinking of others, as well as the fact that more than our every need is met.

I am thankful for cleaning to do because I have a home and a roof over my head.

I am thankful for the task of teaching my children because it allows me to guide them in the way of the Lord.

I am thankful for the papers that need graded for it shows that my children are learning and working.

I am thankful for late night talks because I can hear the growth in the questions being asked.

I am thankful for the pin prick in my heart while studying Jeremiah because it tells me that my heart is not hard.

I am thankful because God provides.

I am thankful because God is with me and my family.

I am thankful for Christ because through Him, I have hope, eternal life, and joy.

I am thankful.

At Home.

GIVE THANKS

words/music: Henry Smith (1978)

Give thanks with a grateful heart
Give thanks to the holy one
Give thanks because he’s given Jesus Christ, his son

Give thanks with a grateful heart
Give thanks to the holy one
Give thanks because he’s given Jesus Christ, his son

And now let the weak say “I am strong”
Let the poor say “I am rich”
Because of what the Lord has done for us

And now let the sick say “I am whole”
Let the bound say “I am free”
Because of what the Lord has done for us
Give thanks

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Give Thanks – hymn

  1. Annette V August 7, 2017 at 7:58 am Reply

    so many things for which to be thankful, perspective matters doesn’t it? 🙂 today I am thankful for a house with no drama in it. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome August 7, 2017 at 9:10 am Reply

      🙂 No drama makes a difference. And yes, it is about perspective.

Leave a Reply

