Rest – an elusive word

Teaching from Rest post

I was given the book (not as a review) Teaching From Rest: Teaching From Rest: A Homeschooler’s Guide to Unshakable Peace by Sarah Mackenzie. I got around to picking it up last night and I didn’t put it down until I was done. It was that good and that packed full of advice I needed to hear.

I loved where it started – what is rest? We think of this is one way but really, it is a wrong way to think. Thinking of rest as unstressed, peaceful is a start but what she is driving at in this book is not that. It is being fully enveloped in God’s rest and facing each day, each moment, from there, facing what God has placed before you to do. This is teaching from rest.

Throughout the book, Mrs. Mackenzie hits straight and doesn’t hide behind sugar-coated words. She gives clear statements not only of what we are reaching for but how to get there. With short, easy-to-read chapters and subsections, this book is not difficult, except for the painful toes.

It is so easy to get caught up in the expectations and the day-to-day grind, that we as homeschooling moms (even if you aren’t a homeschooling mom but just a mom) often miss the mark. We are aiming for the wrong place, the wrong thing. Mrs. Mackenzie sets us straight with kind but forceful words.

There are 3 parts to the book (in addition to the preface, introduction, afterward, resources, bibliography, etc.):

  • Whose “well-done” are you working for?
  • Curriculum is not something you buy
  • Be who you are

Throughout the writing, there are quotes and encouragements.

While it is clear from some of the passages that she practices a religion that is not the same as mine, there is so much in here that it not about the particular beliefs or religions. It is easy to just skip over those things you may find objectionable (and really, they weren’t objectionable, just not my beliefs) and move on to the helpful parts.

This is a book that I suspect I will be picking up again and again. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

At Home.

I am sharing this because this book really touched me. There was no company involved in asking me to review this. Truly, this just really made a deep impression on me.

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Rest – an elusive word

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga August 30, 2017 at 8:20 pm Reply

    that sounds like a book you want to read through and then go back and take your time reading through again. 🙂

    • 3gigglygirlsathome September 2, 2017 at 2:52 pm Reply

      Definitely. I will probably go through it again in a couple weeks.

  2. What I Read – August 2017 | At Home September 18, 2017 at 3:25 pm Reply

    […] wrote about this book not long ago. I loved where it started – what is rest? We think of this is one way but really, it […]

Leave a Reply

